File will not move to trash.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by RandomSausage, May 20, 2011.

  1. RandomSausage macrumors newbie

    RandomSausage

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    I have a file left over from Aperture.
    But my OS will not give me any joy
    when Aperture tried unsuccessfully to take photos from my iPhone.
    leaving behind this file.

    ...importing.IMG_123.JPG_

    Aperture is closed now when trying these things
    and the computer is started up fresh.

    If i drag it to the Trash i get...
    The operation cant be completed because an unexpected error occurred (error code -8072).

    Tried this
    -- dragging it to the trash
    -- Ctrl-clicking the file and selecting "move to trash"
    -- highlight the file and press Command-delete

    tried this..
    Open the terminal and type:
    cd ~/.Trash
    <hit return>
    sudo rm -rf
    put a space after the f and drag the item you want deleted to the terminal so that its path is automatically entered, then press return
    give it your admin password and hit return.

    I can not throw away the folder with this file inside, i get this if i try...
    The operation can’t be completed because the item “2010 Pictures” is in use.

    Heard about dropnuke which does the same as Terminal. cant find it.

    Lost... do not know now what to do.

    Somebody must have the answer to this, HHeeeelllpp

    PS File is on the TimeCapsule.:rolleyes:
     
  2. RandomSausage thread starter macrumors newbie

    RandomSausage

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    interesting link.

    Thanks for this but still no Joy :confused:

    changing the name in info window gets this...
    An unexpected error occurred (error code −43).

    and sharing and permissions say this...
    You have unknown access.
    its size is zero KB
    Kind is Unix Executable File

    ???
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    There are several suggested solutions in that article. You tried them all?
     
  4. RandomSausage thread starter macrumors newbie

    RandomSausage

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    some good solutions.

    A very intersting link and i have tested those relating to the problem.
    Some were aahhh yes ideas but...
    i can not rename the file so i can not save over it then throw.
    i can not change the permissions as these are not set to be anything.
    i even tried my own ideas like... making all invisible files visible and then renaming the file, still no luck.
    I can not see a way yet to repair permissions on a Time capsule through disk Utility as i can not see the time capsule yet from Disk Utility. working on this right now.
     
  5. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #6
    Have you tried reconnecting your camera to try to reload the file in question?
     
  6. RandomSausage thread starter macrumors newbie

    RandomSausage

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Aperture drives me crazy

    Yes i have tried this a number of times.
    apparently there is some problem with an iPod cache file that needs to be erased that can cause some problems with Aperture and iTunes and this i have also tried.
    Nothing seems to work and getting pictures out of my iPhone4 to my hard drive via Aperture is proving to be a wast of time.
    It can tugga through an import for Days... Yes you read that right, DAYS.
    I have tested making a new Aperture library and importing to the same folder, No luck. 18+ hours for one file.
    Repaired Aperture file structure etc etc etc through start up with special key combination to get the repair screen.... No Luck
    ??????????
    The files are stil on my Time capsule and still will not erase or move to the trash.
    These are demon stubborn files from beyond hell and deeper it seems.
     
  7. RandomSausage thread starter macrumors newbie

    RandomSausage

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    Aperturer originated

    would like to add that these files originated from Aperture.
    they are always in use but Aperture is not.
    even after start up fresh!!!!

    aaarrrgggghhhhhh.
    think i need some kind of Terminal Guru who speaks plain English for someone like myself who has VERY little knowledge of the terminal.

    Or can the answer be more simple.
    would like to think i could start up from OSX disc and go to the time Capsule and erase it then But can i see the Time Capsule if i start up this way??
    these are some of the ideas rattling round my noggin just now.

    If i could start up in OS9 perhaps it could be done but those days have gone bye.
     

Share This Page