files wont play on iMovie

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Katilea, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Katilea macrumors member

Hi

I am new to iMacs, I previously had windows XP and had used windows movie maker as my main desktop pc with all photo/video editing software on etc.

The problem I have is even when i have just shot new video clip on mini DV camcorder it will not import to iMovie. I have tried connecting the camcorder direct and clicked on camcorder button but it only finds built in iSight camera.

I have tried removing the SD card and putting it in card reader connected via USB to iMac, it finds the card but when i go through menus to find the image it is greyed out and i cant even select it to import.

The files are there as when i connect it back to old tablet windows pc it finds it though its so painfully slow you got time to go off bungee jumping before its loaded it all! :D

Its driving me nuts! :eek: Can anyone please recommend a model of camcorder that saves video files in a mac compatible format? which transfers straight into iMovie no problems?

Or is there another video editing program for mac (besides iMovie) that might be able to import and edit these videos for me?

Thanks

Kati

2. Courtaj macrumors 6502a

Courtaj

Don't give up on what you're using already, just yet. What are the make and model of your camcorder? Which version of iMovie are you using?

You say you're using a miniDV camera - this should be connected to your Mac with a Firewire cable, not USB. With miniDV camcorders, USB is for transferring low quality video and stills only.

Andrew.

3. shawnathan macrumors member

shawnathan

iMovie can only download DV from a camera that is connected via Firewire. Is your camera USB?

4. Katilea thread starter macrumors member

ok whats a 'firewire'? Is it some kind of connection lead?