FileVault 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by oldcelt, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. oldcelt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all
    Looking for advice here.
    I had Filevault (the earlier legacy one) enabled on my 2007 MBP. When i installed Lion and tried to move to Filevault 2 it was impossible because the space needed was bigger then my drive. I was therefore rather hesitant about about enabling Filevault 2 on my new MBA.
    What are people's experiences? Would I be better waiting until after Mountain Lion???
    Advice please!
     
  2. scarred macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #2
    "It just worked". I didn't notice the speed decrease. I don't think there are any updates to Filevault in ML, but you might as well wait till next week before turning it on.

    I only use it when traveling, which I don't do too much anymore. It is easy to turn off as well.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    FileVault 2 is a vast improvement over the earlier FileVault. Instead of just encrypting your home folder, the entire drive is encrypted. I've not noticed any major performance hits and the actual encryption went quite fast for me.
     
  4. OneMike macrumors 601

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #4
    Had same experience.

    The only thing that was a tiny issue for me I remote into my computers a lot. With file vault 2 since it encrypts the entire drive you can't do reboots without manually being there. Only an issue when I'm working on my mac in NY from miami
     
  5. oldcelt thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks, it's not the effect on speed or anything like that that worries me, it was my previous problems with the legacy file vault. Just wondering if anyone had problems in disabling file vault 2.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I have disabled and reenabled it a couple time tinkering around swapping SSD drives and such, and never had any trouble at all.

    As an aside, if you enable FV2, it is a good idea to enable a firmware password also.
     
  7. aaronvan Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #7
    It says Apple is no longer maintaining that page. I wonder why?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I'm sorry, that is an outdated article. With newer machines you just command-r boot to get to the Recovery console and then from the Utilities menu select the Firmware Password utility. :eek:
     

Share This Page