Filevault will not turn on MacBook Pro 2015

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by peaman69, Nov 5, 2018.

Tags:
  1. peaman69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    #1
    Hello All,

    I need to encrypt my 2015 MacBook Pro to/at (?) 256 AES and hoped to used FileVault to do so. When clicking the "Turn On FileVault..." button, absolutely nothing happens. I have followed the instructions on https://www.macworld.com/article/3313592/macs/when-filevault-won-t-turn-on.html which seems to confirm that there are no other fixes currently in-place for this, that they are aware of.

    I had originally tried this with the previous OS without success, before updating to Mojave hoping this would solve the problem.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem? Or found a solution?

    Alternatively, could someone be so kind as to recommend another solution for me to encrypt to/at 256 AES? This is completely new to me, so any links with step-by-step guides or very simple explanations would be really appreciated.

    Many thanks
     
  2. peaman69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    #2
    Bumping, in desperate need of help here, local "experts" have so far been fairly useless.
     
  3. aaronraimist macrumors newbie

    aaronraimist

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    Honestly no idea why it wouldn't work but you could try opening Console.app and looking at the logs and the system.log while you press the button and see if anything relevant shows up.
     
  4. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #4
    If it didn't work on a previous OS and doesn't work on Mojave, and if you've exhausted other options, you could do a backup to Time Machine, then do a clean install, then encrypt, then restore your user settings and data using Migration Assistant.
     
  5. LuisN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Location:
    Torres Vedras, Portugal
    #5
    Check if you have a recovery partition. Sometimes encryption doesn't work without it
     
  6. peaman69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    #6
    Thanks for the advice :) I'll try the things you have all listed.
     
  7. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #7
    You're running Mojave, right?
     
  8. peaman69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    #8
    I have done as suggested, and the following fault comes up in the console.app:
    "Client <private> lacks a bundle ID".

    It then goes on to say:
    "Remote account store returned error: Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=4099" The connection to service named com.apple.accountsd.accountmanager was invalidated." UserInfo={NSDebugDescription=The connection to service named com.apple.accountsd.accountmanager was invalidated.}"

    Then followed by:
    "Nil account cannot possibly have a password-reset-token token!"

    I'm not sure what this could mean, does anyone else or could anyone point me in the direction?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 14, 2018 ---
    Yes, that's correct.
     
  9. whoisyourdaddy Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2018
    #9
    This appears to be a problem with Keychain Access. You can make a backup by copying your ~/Library/Keychains directory to your Desktop. Open Keychain Access and select Preferences. From here you can reset your Keychain login. Restart your computer afterwards.
     
  10. peaman69 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    #10
    Thanks, I will try that :)
     
  11. Auggie macrumors 6502

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #11
    I realize this is an older thread, but am experiencing the same issue. I get the Secure Token DISABLED on Terminal. Disk Utility shows no issue (I recently replaced the SSD and performed a clean install then a migration of previous account).

    Did OP ever resolve this issue?
     
  12. treekram macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #12
    How did you migrate your previous account? Migration Assistant? Did you try the suggestion in post #9 (although you'll lose whatever item's you've added)?
     
  13. Auggie macrumors 6502

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #13
    Migration Assistant.

    Don't want to resort to #9 because that also wipes out my KeyChain data for ALL my OS X machines and iOS devices, and certainly want to avoid doing a drive wipe and clean install, but that would be the least destructive and disruptive in terms of impact to my collective devices.

    Hoping the OP could shed light on his final resolution that could also be applicable in my case if it's not destructive in the contexts mentioned above.
     
  14. treekram macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #14
    The OP posted and participated in it and then left. They may get notification of new posts in this thread and return.
     
  15. Auggie macrumors 6502

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #15
    Didn't want to wait anymore not knowing if the OP would ever respond, so I took option B: full backup, wiped, clean install, activate FileVault, Migrate.

    All good now with peace of mind my laptop is fully secured if it is ever lost...
     

Share This Page

14 November 5, 2018