Filters for DSLRs - NEED SUGGESTIONS PLEASE

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mac-key, May 24, 2011.

1. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

just starting to shop around and looking to pick up some filters for my lens I use with a Canon Rebel t2i.

I'm just learning, so forgive me, but it seems like there are many to chose from. I've had people tell me I definitely need a neutral density filter. But I've seen many others like "color diffuser filter" "UV filter" and many others.

Just looking for opinions. I mainly shoot outdoor video, documentary type work. Below is an example of my work:

http://vimeo.com/23464436

I'd appreciate any thoughts or opinions

2. jwheeler macrumors regular

Sounds like you don't know why you need one (or many)

I don't know whether you know much about getting exposure, but basically, people mostly get DSLRs for shallow depth of field. Which means they are shooting with a low f stop (large aperture) which lets in lots more light. In photography, this is fine as we'd just speed up the shutter (letting light in for less time). However, for video, we stick to the 180 rule (origin of the name & gif) which means shutter speed has to be 2x the frame rate (24, 25 or 30fps -> 1/48, 1/50, 1/60). This means we need another way to get the exposure back down. And in comes ND. All ND does is make the image darker (by letting less light through) without messing with the image. So you'll want either a set (ND 2, 4, & 8) or a variable ND filter.

Hope this helps.

3. gameface macrumors 6502

My most used is a Singh-Ray vari-ND in 77mm. As with any variable ND filters, on really wide glass you get some weird things going on at the farthest extremes of the range but it works great and is easier than carrying a bunch of filters around.

A UV filter does very little for you except protect your glass.