Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Hey everyone,
I've got some Christmas money to use...and I'm thinking about getting some more filters for my Nikon D90. I'm an amateur photographer for Highschool senior photos mainly. I shoot outdoors, and I'm wondering if there are any filters that you would recommend to help enhance my photos?

What I have in terms of filters right now is pretty basic:
UV filters (to protect lenses)
ND stop .3
Circular Polarizer

I also use Adobe Lightroom 3 to post-process just FYI.

Thanks! :)

FMJPhoto.com

macrumors member
Nov 9, 2010
Littleton, CO
Can't say that I recommend any "filters" for portraits, other than a circular polarizing filter. On a gloomy day it can help bring back color.

Honestly, for outdoor portrait work, your best investment would be an off camera flash.

On the cheap: Vivitar 285HV -$89
Light stand- $20
Umbrella bracket- $15
Umbrella- $20
Wireless triggers- $40
+batteries

So for about $160.00 you could open up a WORLD of possibilities with your light setups.

If you wanted to go even cheaper, a big foldable reflector will do wonders for outdoor portraiture. Bring a friend to assist you and hold it and voila, a $50 (or less) solution.

Just some ideas, hope it helps.

FMJPhoto.com

macrumors member
Nov 9, 2010
Littleton, CO
Thanks for the tips. :)

I was looking at this a while ago: http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-SB-600-...?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1294092108&sr=1-11

It's not the cheapest on the market, yet it's not the most expensive either...

I have two of those. I love the SB-600's for indoor and some outdoor work. I also have two Vivitar 285HV's, which are more powerful...but less adjustable.

For strobist work, manual settings, the SB-600's are FAR easier to use and control the power output, which is why they're my most used flashguns.