Final Cut 5 Academic serial # invalid

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by xtempo, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. xtempo macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #1
    Is there a way to get a new serial #?

    I can't get past the screen where the number is required.

    I bought this used and I have tried the number it came with but it is invalid.
     
  2. boch82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #2
    Most academic licenses can not be transferred.
     
  3. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for the help:)

    I wish the person who listed it knew more and have a better description. I didn't know it was academic until I started looking through the papers since the serial wasn't working. I may have to stick with Final Cut Express 2 on my PMG5. I was hoping to upgrade and use on my MB air but I can't waste any more money on buying a new copy.
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Assuming it's a valid number it's odd that it won't work. Some academic software will 'self destruct' past a certain date so you might trying rolling the date on your PMG5 back 10yrs. The activation servers might also have been taken offline. If it was FCP 5.0 (as opposed to 5.1) it won't work on your MB Air anyway because 5.0 and older required PPC CPUs to run (so either IBM or Motorola CPUs, not Intel). If it's 5.1 it might work, but it also might not because the hardware and OS is too new. For example, some older versions of FCP wouldn't launch if they didn't detect a GPU in an AGP slot, but over time AGP was phased out in favor of PCIe so people had to hack FCP to get it to work.
     
  5. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #5
    Its 5.1 HD and am trying to use it on the MB air as its newer. I only use Final Cut Express 2 on the PowerMac G5 as that was what I was able to get cheaply at the time and it was my main machine for awhile and still is for some things.I was trying to say I'll have to put FC 5.1 up for now and stick with my FCE 2 copy on the PPC unless I ask Apple for a new serial but I'd probably have to rebuy anyway to get one.
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that the media for academic copies of Final Cut are specific, and won't accept a retail serial number, and the opposite is true as well. Does the media indicate that it's academic? Do you have original Apple discs and the original printed serial number?
    The serial number sticker should have some text that indicates whether the serial is academic or an upgrade. It's been a while since I've looked at these so I may be misremembering.
     
  7. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #7
    I did not know it was academic and I was going through those papers and also making sure the number was correct from the stick on the disc envelope and the one paper that has it as well. I may just save up and buy a retail copy.

    As far as I can tell its complete with everything original. all discs, books and the installation papers. if need be I can take a picture.
     
  8. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #8
    Is it possible to obtain a new Serial Number for academic software at all?
     
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    I guess it couldn't hurt to call 1-800-MY-APPLE to ask but FCP 5 is around 10yrs old and Apple washed its hands of FCP 7 and older back in 2011 so I wouldn't hold my breath.
     

Share This Page