Final Cut -- Best Practices for storage, archiving etc.?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MattG, Aug 11, 2007.

1. MattG macrumors 68040

MattG

This may be kind of long so please bear with me...

Let me start off by saying, I'm fairly new to FCP. I've been using it regularly for about a year. I went to a formal training class, and I'm to the point where I'm fairly comfortable producing footage with it. What I'm still not comfortable with is the whole aspect of storage, and the file/folder structure that FCP uses. I used to use iMovie extensively, so I'm used to everything being compiled into one big project file. I realize the way FCP works is probably better, but I'm not sure about the best way to manage all this stuff. How do you all do it?

Here's my situation -- I've got a 500gb FW hard drive that I've been using as storage for all my video projects at the University I work for. I usually create folders for each category of project that I work on, and I store the actual FCP project file in there. So, a folder for faculty projects, a folder for this department, that department, etc. But, that's just where the project files go. All the actual data goes wherever FCP puts all that stuff...video scratch, audio render, etc...there's like 4 or 5 folders I think. So let's say for example, I finish a project, and I've produced a DVD or QuickTime video or whatever. Now, I want to take my project (the whole thing...all my footage, everything) and back it up to a DVD or some other storage location, so I can remove it from my 'work' hard drive. What's the best way to do this, since all the bits and pieces of this project are kind of spread out all over the hard drive in different folders? Is there a process, or is it a matter of manually copying from each of the folders FCP creates onto my backup medi?