Final Cut Express> Capture a time lapse

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #1
    Is there any way to make Final Cut capture a time lapse by specifying how many frames per second to record? FYI I do not have iMovie HD 6 so it can't be done with that. Cheers
    Edit- I do have Quicktime 7.4 but I am almost positive it can't be done in that.
     
  2. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #2
    You can slow down and speed up in FCE. I've done that before when I captured from 8 mm film.
     
  3. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #3
    A) How?
    B) Does this create a time lapse-y effect; or simply fast forward like? cheers
     
  4. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #4
    I'm using FCE 2. I really should update.
    Under Modify menu -> Speed.
     
  5. phiberglass macrumors 6502a

    phiberglass

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #5
    Yea, you can modify the speed (CMD + J) in FCP, and bump it up. I recently did this for some filler footage and took some clips of people walking around the campus of my school.
     
  6. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #6
    If you are doing timelapse, I would suggest making the shutter speed of the camera as long as possible. This will help you smooth out the motion a little bit and keep it from looking too much like "fast forward".
     

Share This Page