Final Cut Express Installs but wont open

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jimTV, May 15, 2007.

  1. jimTV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    I had a dodgy copy of Final Cut Pro 5.1, which didn't work well and I removed it.
    So I bought a copy of Final Cut Express and tried installing it.
    Install seemed fine, but it won't open!

    Any clue to what's wrong ?

    I tried deleting preferences, but it didn't work.

    Cheers

    James.
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Why don't you contact Apple about getting a replacement for your Final Cut Pro 5.1 discs if they don't work?

    For FCE have your tried installing any available software updates? I think in an older version of FCE if you didn't have a video source plugged into your computer it wouldn't launch but my memory on that is foggy. A software update afterwards fixed that.

    Also what kind of machine are you working on. I seem to vaguely recall some version of Final Cut not working with AGP video cards... maybe.
     
  3. jimTV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    Final Cut Pro wasn't "legal". Downloaded off the net !! So no disks.

    I have a pretty new iMac and the latest version of FCE, bought from the Mac Store.
     
  4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #4
    You can just say it wasn't legal. No need to pretend it's semi-legal by putting quotes around it.

    What is a "pretty new iMac"? Everybody has varying opinions about what's new. It'd be nice to know the specs to help with the troubleshooting. My guess would be the video card isn't supported or a patch is needed to be applied.

    Of course your illegal copy of Final Cut Pro may be screwing it up but if that's the case... meh.
     
  5. jimTV thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #5
    LOL. I was trying to be funny about the "legal" thing, sorry. ;)

    My iMac is a 20 inch Dual Core Intel one. Does that help ?
     

Share This Page