Final cut pro in Macbook Air 13.0 inch

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by waelbahbahani, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. waelbahbahani macrumors newbie

    waelbahbahani

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me about final cut pro performance on macbook air ( CPU 2.13 GHz / 4 Gb Ram )

    or

    should I install final cut express, it will be faster on my macbook air than of final cut pro

    Thanks for your help

    :eek::eek::eek: :apple::apple: :eek::eek::eek:
     
  2. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

    Angelo95210

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #2
    Depends of your usage. Some people use to have FCP on Core Duos. If it's just for cutting this should be OK, but in this case FCE will be as well.

    If you plan to use of Motion and Color you might be very limited.
     
  3. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #3
    Don't plan on doing any major editing other than simple cuts and good luck if you're working with High Def footage. Final Cut wasn't meant to work on Macbook Airs. It's not made for that.
     
  4. atlanticza macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #4
    Agreed, it'll be a bit of a dog. Simple cuts? iMovie?
     
  5. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Let me put it this way: Final Cut Pro 7 is slower than a snail thats on its back on my 2.1Ghz Core 2 Duo MacBook - Id hate to use it on anything that isnt a MBP, and even then it wouldnt be great.
     
  6. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #6
    Well that macbook has an integrated graphics chip, it shouldn't even be running FCP lol.
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    But it can run on IGPs, as FCP is not really dependent on GPUs.
    I ran FCP on my MacBook with 2.4GHz and X3100 IGP quite okay. Motion was a bitch though.
     
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    You shouldn't have problems running FCP, Compressor or DVD Studio Pro. Just don't expect great performance with Color or Motion, due to the integrated graphics.
     
  9. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    On mine with the X3100 Motion vomits. Quite literally vomits all over the place.... (So far Ive managed to get maybe 45% of my renders out without it falling over due to something or other).
     

Share This Page