Final Cut Pro on new Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cohenben, Dec 20, 2008.

1. cohenben macrumors member

I'm a professional video editor. I know that a matte screen is considered the better route - but the whole Nvidia GPU debate has me thinking the new MBP might be a better choice and I can just get used the glossy. I can also, over time, get over the missing firewire 400.

Can anyone working on Final Cut Studio 2 on the newest Macbook Pro configuration share some of their experience - good or bad?

This will be my secondary machine - I still have my mac pro to do most of my heavy lifting, but going mobile with an edit is a must. The majority of work I do on the laptop will not be editing, however.

Should I just get a clearance MBP and risk the Nvidia 8600 crapping out? Thoughts?

2. techound1 macrumors 68000

techound1

Here's one more option: get a refurb MBP. If it was sent in for the video crap-out, you'll have a new logic board and have saved a couple of hundred more. Plus, it will have the same one-year warranty as a new/clearance.

It sounds like you're looking at the 15". Is that going to be enough real estate for your editing, even on the road?

3. cohenben thread starter macrumors member

Oooooo. Hadn't really thought of that! I think 15" is the right size for me. I've edited on my PowerBook g4 for many years so I know what I'm getting screen-wise. I will be using the laptop more for mobile business purposes because I have my mac pro for heavy lifting on the editing etc. So 17" although nice isn't worth the extra dollars.

I'm going to check put those refurbs though thanks for the reccomendation. Would still be interested in hearing peoples thought on FCP with the brand new MBPs.

4. THX1139 macrumors 68000

THX1139

A buddy of mine is running Aftereffects CS3 on his unibody and he says it's like butter. That being said, FCS should run fine on any of the MBPs and really sweet on the unibody.