Final Cut Pro to After Effects questions

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by wing70301, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. wing70301 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #1
    Hello all,

    I'm currently interning at a local commercial production company. They're all running Windows boxes with the whole Adobe editing suite. Well, my boss gets swamped with work and I volunteer to edit a commercial for him. The commercial involved green screen and other effects, so naturally I chose to use After Effects to do the job. So I did all the initial edits in FCP then used QuickTime Conversion to transfer the file over to AE. However, I'm really wary about this because there is a possible loss in quality. I really want to show my boss that Macs are more than capable at editing, and that I have the knowledge to continue to edit commercials for him so that he can actually keep up with his work load.

    All this to ask, what is the best possible way to transfer movie files that have been edited in FCP to AE, keeping the quality, speed, etc.? Help me show my boss (who's an old fogy by the way) that I can edit, and the slight quality hits that my editing work is taking is due to my incompetence with file transfers, rather than the problem being "it's a mac, that's why". Thanks a lot!
     
  2. Espnetboy3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #2
    Hey wing the animation codec is ur bet, its pretty much lossless. Or when you render out use NONE for compression.
     
  3. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #3
    If you're working in DV, then you want to stay in DV, right? But if you want lossless compression I have found QuickTime using PNG (24-bit) compression is best. Lossless and smaller size than TIF or Animation codec. The only problem is it won't play back smoothly in realtime in a viewer, but it's a good storage/transfer encoding.
     
  4. faustfire macrumors 6502a

    faustfire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Don't export out to dv as this will introduce another level of compression to your files. Keep it lossless until final output.
     
  5. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    What about exporting Quicktime and unchecking the "Make Self-Contained" option? This references the source videos during playback (if no filters were applied) rather than re-rendering them and losing more quality to compression.

    This would be a great option if you were keeping it inside Final Cut, but I don't know how well it works cross platform and in After Effects and all that.
     
  6. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #6
    If his files are already in DV, then they should not be recompressed when exporting to DV, should they? Of course if there's effects and compositing...
     
  7. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    This is correct, assuming he has "recompress all frames" unchecked.
     
  8. faustfire macrumors 6502a

    faustfire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Not if he has made any changes to his clips; color correction, effects, cross dissolves, etc. If all he has are straight cuts then he should be fine.
     

Share This Page