Final Cut Pro weird problem

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bki122689, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys,

    when i import video into fcp and then it requires me to render the video and audio. ok no problem i do it and it works. but recently it would only render the audio and not the video no matter what type of file type it is. Even when i go to render video each manually it still would not work.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #2
    so when i press ok it works fine. but when i try to import a different video clip it wont work. the red bar will be above video clip, indicating for it to be rendered, but it wont render...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #3
    here are some more pictures.
    notice how the first video is rendered and works fine. but the second clip just won;t play in the timeline and i can;t render it so that red bar would disappear.

    those are my current setting right now
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #4
    Looks like you're attempting to edit using .mp4 files? MPEG-4 coupled with AAC is more of a delivery codec. I suggest getting MPEGStreamclip and converting your video/audio into something editable like DV.
     
  5. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #5
    i got these clips from youtube. you would recommend me convert everything in compressor into dv files then re-import them into fcp. What should the sequence setting be in fcp?
     
  6. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #6
    Easy Setup should simply be

    Format: NTSC(I assume you're not in PAL land)

    Use: DV-NTSC

    You'll have to figure out the Pixel Aspect Ratio and Frame Size in your Sequence settings.

    What's your intended output to be if you don't mind me asking?

    Edit: You don't necessarily have to use Compressor for this. MPEGStreamclip should suffice in quickly exporting your MP4 files into a more editable codec. Simply open the media file in the application and File->Export to DV. In there you can alter the aspect ratio, and tweak a few settings.

    http://www.squared5.com/
     
  7. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #7
    doesn't matter for me, but ill probably export it into .mov

    and no lol im not in pal land. im here in michigan
     
  8. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #8
    Well .MOV is simply a wrapper, but what I was alluding to is, were you outputting for web again? I would assume so because I would guess the resolution from the MP4 files, especially from Youtube, would be of quality that could not be used for say, DVD.
     
  9. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #9
    yeah ill be outputting back for the web i.e. youtube. putting video taken of youtube on dvd would be a nightmare of a resolution especially if its played back on a high resolution tv
     
  10. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #10
    so i worked... i two different clips into dv ntsc in compressor and it worked in fcp. now all i have to figure out is how to keep the 16:9 and not have it convert into 4:3.

    thanks man
     
  11. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #11
    Probably just a matter of checking a setting. I hate to sound like a broken record but MPEGStreamclip has an obvious drop down menu that allows you to select either 4:3 or 16:9, when you export to DV. Compressor certainly has it's perks, but working with Youtube material, it may be a tad overkill.

    Edit: Glad you got it sorted out.
     
  12. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    Right click on the clip in FCP's Browser window, Item Properties, Format, click the Anamorphic field to add a check mark. Now FCP will know to display the clip in 16x9 instead of 4x3.


    Lethal
     
  13. bki122689 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #13
    thanks man
     

Share This Page