Final Cut Pro X and Mini DV???!!!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by hschmeichel, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. hschmeichel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #1
    Hello out there.
    Does anyone know if FCPX works fine with Mini Dv (capture, timecome etc..) - and if not, what to do for us with 'old school' tape recording....
    Luv Hanne S
     
  2. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #2
    They have dropped support for tapes. Tapes suck.
     
  3. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #3
    Nonsense. You still can capture tape. There's just not that many features in the Log and Captures screen anymore.
     
  4. Derwood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #4
    Will partly depend on your camera/deck, but captured a bunch of MiniDV tapes today without a problem. It's basically the same as "Capture Now" from FCP7.
     
  5. Alucardx03 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #5
    Don't listen to this guy. He doesn't know what he's talking about.

    I just captured a few HDV and DV tapes without issue. It works perfectly fine.
     
  6. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Tapes DO suck, but that doesn't mean you know squat about what you're talking about. I still use tapes for archiving and have old projects with time codes from logged tapes that I still need to capture from time to time...so yeah, for those of us who make a living using FCP, FCP X is unusable in that regard.
     
  7. hschmeichel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #7
    Ok, I won't....hahahaa
    But is it possible to do some kind of log & capture or do I have to import the whole tape first and throw out later, unless I have to sit and Capture Now, which kind of nails you to the chair....

    And what about timecode, is that 'out' as well????
    Luv Hanne S(o can't afford a video cam everytime Apple changes the standards...)
     
  8. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #8
    What you can do is to cue the camera to the point from where you want to capture, capture, repeat. I have a Sony deck that can set capture markers while cueing.

    I actually think the tape capture process has advantages: You can preview your footage and do some editing decisions in your head during capture (I oftentimes work with footage I haven't shot myself).
     
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    TC is still there but log and capture is out, AFAIK.


    Lethal
     
  10. hschmeichel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #10
    Good point! All this HD stuff is new to me; just getting back in the game after a 10 yrs break... so thanks for good advice!!!!
    Luv Hanne S
     
  11. hschmeichel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #11
    Shame, I think, with L&C, - but thanks for your answer!
    Luv Hanne S
     

Share This Page