Final Cut Pro X - Switching Timelines

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AFPoster, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    I created 2 projects, with 1 event in each. I focused on the first one to make a video, and now when I switch to the other Event it shows the same clips in the Timeline. If I delete the clips and edits I've made it removes them from both places.

    What's the best way to switch between projects / events so that my timeline is showing the different clips I'm working on?
     
  2. AFPoster thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Surprised I don't have a response. Let me ask this, is it apparent that I'm asking the question incorrectly? What will help to get an answer?
     
  3. onekerato macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #3
    Events in FCPX are in an "Event Library" that is shared across projects. The Library maps to a common folder on the disk. This is unlike the behavior in Premiere Pro and FCP7 where events are bins which are part of a project.

    A project is a timeline. You pull clips from events to the timeline to put together the project. Each project references the common Events Library.

    So, if you remove events from the Events Library, of course, the events disappear from all projects.

    This is the broad explanation. There are nuances, and FCPX introduced several such unconventional assumptions so you may want to take a quick video course. I suggest Ripple Training or Lynda.com for FCPX online video courses.


     
  4. rwbarna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bernalillo, NM
    #4
    Can't demonstrate this behavior

    I think I have followed what you're doing:
    I created a project (Test1) and copied two clips into the timeline.
    I then created a second project (Test2) and copied the same clips into it.
    Then I deleted a clip from test2, and went to test1. (And, remember, the same clips were in both projects).
    Voila! the original 2 clips I placed in the timeline in Test1 were still there. The clip is or course gone from Test2.

    I am using FCP X 10.1.2. And you?
     
  5. onekerato macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #5
    What do you mean by "copied" the clips? Did you drag it into the Events Library first from disk, and then from Events Library into the timelines for Test1 and Test2? This is the "new normal" way to work in FCPX.

    Alternatively, if you copied from disk directly into Project timeline, then it probably created duplicates in the Events library. When you create a new project, it also links a default "Event" where any clips are added which you drag in direct from disk.

    (All that said, I'm writing from memory here as I've not needed FCPX in about a year.)


     
  6. rwbarna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Bernalillo, NM
    #6
    Clips were already in the event library, so they were "moved" into the timelines -- the way I usually create a stringout. Of course, they remain in the event library. Deleting a clip from one timeline does not affect clips in the other timeline.
     

Share This Page