Final Cut Pro X

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Cagle, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. Cagle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #1
    anyone tried it on a top of the line MBA 11" yet?
     
  2. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    does this really exist "final cut pro X". I know "final cut pro" as part of "final cut studio" and I know "final cut express" but "Final cut pro express" seems odd to me !!!!!

     
  3. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #3
    I assume it's a nightmare to work with on an 11 inch screen.
     
  4. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

    jamesryanbell

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #4
    It's on the front page of the App Store. "Final Cut Pro X"
     
  5. pzarquon macrumors newbie

    pzarquon

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #5
    Final Cut Pro X on MacBook Air 11"

    I'm hoping someone can report success or disaster on this question as well. Crazy as it sounds I do a fair amount of video editing on my maxed-out MBA, albeit iPhone 4 HD clips in iMovie. I know FCP is a huge app, but was hoping the optimized code in FCPX would offset some of that.
     
  6. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #6
    External monitor.
     
  7. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #7
    Well it meets the requirements in RAM, screen resolution, and video card.

    Might be fine for editing iPhone 4 quality HD video, but I would guess anything higher bit rate than that may be a bit slow.
     
  8. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Ok I read it but does it support 6, 8 or 12 cores Mac pro's !!!!


     
  9. mwayne85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #9
    Yes. It's 64-bit and uses all the RAM and cores you throw at it.

    As for the Macbook Air, it'll most likely run fine. You'll just be limited in terms of effects-heavy stuff, encoding, and screen estate.
     
  10. rsdq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #10
    Final Cut Pro X, 11" Ultimate Air with external screen

    Well in theory it should work....

    any one tried yet??
     
  11. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #11
    OP didn't mention it, and people have justified doing crazier things. :)
     
  12. The Samurai macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #12
    I've tried out the 13" - not bad for what the MBA is.

    Video on it here
     
  13. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Does FCP (without the X) also use aal the 6, 8 and 12 core Mac pros when needed ?

     
  14. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Is that really the new FCP X interface shown in the video? It looks so consumer not like my FCP version that came with FCS HD !!!

     
  15. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    I believe that answer is no. That's one of the things that makes FCPX so nice.
     
  16. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    Great that was the reason for not to buy a Mac pro yet. So if FCPX supports it that is good news :) and I have a good aliby to buy a new MAC :)

     

Share This Page