Final Cut Studio 3 aka Final Cut 7 on El Capitan

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by pwhitehead, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. pwhitehead macrumors 6502

    pwhitehead

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    new jersey
    #1
    Has anyone tested final cut 7 on El Capitan? Feedback please...
     
  2. MSastre macrumors regular

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #2
    no reason to check FCP 7, I've moved to FCPX and happy with it. Works fine on Yosemite and will check El Cap when the dust settles.
     
  3. boch82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #3
    +1, would be nice to know if it works. Already know of issues with all things Microsoft...so I'll probably still hold off for a while.
     
  4. emptytea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #4
    Yep. Final Cut 7 launches on El Capitan. Just tried it out. Didn't realize there were still FC7 users out there!
     
  5. boch82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for checking. I still have vendors that use it, and still need it to open old projects on occasion. We moved over to PP a few years back and dont regret it. We've tried a couple projects in FCPX and just not fan.

    Looking back, I wish we always stayed on Avid and never made the move to FCP 7.
     
  6. Groves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    #6
    I cannot get Final Cut Studio to install on El Capitan. It was working fine in Yosemite. Just another data point.
     
  7. pwhitehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    pwhitehead

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    new jersey
    #7
    Are you trying to install it with the disc's or dmg files? If you're trying to use the disc's, then I would make all the disc's into dmg files. Mount all 7 dmg's and then install it that way. Using the dmg's works almost 99% because the disc's for some reason are programmed with application software that won't work on anything above mountain lion.
     
  8. Groves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    #8
    After trying many things, I used the FCS remover tool and then it installed fine, from discs.
     
  9. Just_My_Opinion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #9
    Out of curious, why upgrade to El Capitan?
    I keep a partition containing a stable/pervious OS. When a new OS is released, I install the a newer OS on a second partition or drive just for software testing. I haven't messed with El Capitan yet.
     

Share This Page