Final Cut X.1.1 Slow To Open On nMP

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Switchfoot, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. Switchfoot, Mar 11, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014

    Switchfoot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    #1
    I've noticed FCPX has slowed down it's opening sequence significantly on my nMP (25 seconds). I'm on a dual monitor setup, 8 core 32gb, and my current project is maybe 20-30 seconds long.

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: OK, now I'm just confused. I created a new library and hid all the others and moved them out of the movies folder. Still had the hang. However, out of desperation I pulled my SD card from my camera and plugged it back in and presto- FCPX starts up in 2 seconds now. Mind you, I never imported from the card- I always copy over any media to my HD, then import to FCPX.

    EDIT 2: One more piece to the puzzle before I quit for the night. The SD trick I mentioned earlier only works for the first few minutes- then FCPX returns to the 25 seconds startup unless I eject and reinsert the SD card. I've deleted all my libraries and events, I've deleted the 3 pref files, nothing. I've created a test account, and FCPX runs lightning fast on it. Guess I'll reinstall while I sleep, but I'd love if anyone had any other advice!
     
  2. Switchfoot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    #2
    Reinstalled FCPX last night- still over 20 seconds to open. Guess I'm stuck moving everything to a new user account.
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    Why do you care how long an app takes to start up? You only do that once then let it run for weeks. Make the computer sleep when not in use.

    I think FCP looks for libraries on every mounted device when it starts. SD cards are devices but darn slow devices. It is searching the card

    You can verify this by using Activity Monitor

    But why are you quitting and restarting FCP so frequently?
     
  4. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    What happens if you only use 1 monitor? Are they daisy chained?
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    If FCP is scanning disks and cards on startup the reason it was fast on a second account was that it did not have read access to the same data.
     

Share This Page