Final Cut!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by snertdog1, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. snertdog1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey I was wondering if any version of final cut ould work on my the mac in my sig. I was wondering if versions such as 4,5 would work and where I could find them?

    P.S I love my Macbook!!
     
  2. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    No, it probably won't work at all. Final Cut is not compatible with integrated Intel graphics processors.
     
  3. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #3
    Untrue. Any version of Final Cut Pro greater than 5.1 will work fine on that computer. Motion and Colour will not though.
     
  4. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #4
    Sorry, I'm just quoting the Minimum Specs as listed by Apple.

    "Final Cut Studio 2 System Requirements

    Minimum Requirements to Install All Final Cut Studio Applications
    A Macintosh computer with a 1.25GHz or faster PowerPC G4, PowerPC G5, Intel Core Duo, or Intel Xeon processor
    1GB of RAM
    An AGP or PCI Express Quartz Extreme graphics card (Final Cut Studio is not compatible with integrated Intel graphics processors)
    A display with 1024-by-768 resolution or higher
    Mac OS X v10.4.9 or later
    QuickTime 7.1.6 or later
    A DVD drive for installation"
     
  5. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #5
    Not so if it has integrated graphics.
    Apple clearly states that
    The OP should beware if his computer has integrated graphics.
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    Unless they have changed it with Final Cut Pro 6 then Final Cut Pro should work fine. There have been posts about this in the digital video forum and people have managed to get it working fine on MacBooks.
     
  7. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #7
    Final Cut Express: Yes

    Final Cut Studio 2: No (It has checks on start up for all of the apps)
     
  8. felipeviegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #8
    How??

    Hello guys...


    So, does anyone know how manage to make final cut pro run on intel graphics card?? I can run soundtrack pro, DVD Studio Pro, Live Type, Cinema Tools, Motion and Color, just really Final Cut Pro and Compressor are not working...

    Tips??

    Thanks.

    Regards.
     
  9. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #9
    FCS1 Worked Great On The CD MB. That Changed With FCS2 For Sure?

    Possibly false info. I know FCS 5.1.4 UB works fine on the MacBook. Have you direct experience with FCS2 and FCP 6.0.1 that it won't work in the new 2007 version?

    Please don't quote specs as those are not necessarily the real minimum.
     
  10. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #10
    I installed FCS2 on my old iBook just for the hell of it. It does a start up check to see the minimum specs, and bitched at me because of the old AGP card in the iBook. I'd imagine it does the same if you have integrated graphics. The weird thing was DVDSP and Soundtrack Pro opened fine, bu FCP6 refused to launch after the check. I didn't even attempt Motion or Color.
     
  11. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #11
    iBook Is Too Old To Qualify For This Thread - We're Asking About MacBook CD or C2D

    An iBook does not qualify for this thread. We need to know it won't work on a CD or C2D MacBook which I am pretty sure it does. The IG is not an issue for FCP 6.0.1. Only for Motion which still works to some extent - or rather did in 5.1.4 UB on CD MB last year.

    You would want to add a 1GB and 2GB stick to that C2D MB though. 1GB is not enough ram for optimal performance.
     
  12. felipeviegas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #12
    No problems with Integrated Graphics?

    To me therer were problems... I couldn't open Final Cut Pro, as I said earlier... So, must be a trick to do it...

    About the old iMac, there is a trick to make it works. Look for final cut AGP on google and you will find. A .plist file from Final Cut must be edit, if I'm not wrong.


    I'm still trying to make Final Cut Pro works. Remembering that I'm not on a macbook. But everything on my computer is working fine.

    Reinstalling the system at all right now.

    Best regards.
     
  13. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #13
    FWIW, I have some of Final Cut Studio 2 on my MBP (2.4ghz, 4gb RAM). Final Cut and Live Type work fine. Compressor won't work though. I don't have anything else installed besides those. I'm sure they'd work though.
     
  14. waywardsage macrumors 6502

    waywardsage

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    CA
    #14
    waitaminute.....So all of Final Cut Studio 2 WON'T work on a top of the line Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo? (2.4Ghz, 4MB RAM) ???!!

    I was just about to buy one to run Final cut Pro Studio 2!! What the heck?

    What other pro programs won't work on the MPB C2D?
     
  15. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #15
    All of the Apple Pro Apps work on the Macbook Pro. You can even play with them on the MBPs in the Apple Stores.
     
  16. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #16
    No, it works just fine. I use it on my MBP 2.4.
     
  17. elvirav macrumors member

    elvirav

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California, off and on.
    #17
    I've seen Final Cut Studio 2 work on a Mac Mini, which has the same integrated graphics as the MacBook. Some filters did not work, and I do not think Color or Motion worked well (or at all), but the rest of it worked okay. Compressor seemed fine too. Granted, not a lot of extensive testing was done with it, but it installed and started up and performed basic tasks.

    Right now I have Final Cut Studio 1 on my Intel Mac Mini, and everything works pretty well. Apparently Motion will not do some intensive things, but I've played around with it a bit and it seems okay. I do not think I'll be springing for the $500 upgrade to FCS2 for myself, though--not until I get an iMac or a Mac Pro. I could get FCS2 to run, but that's a lot of money for some limited functionality. I'm sticking with FCS1 for now.

    Edit: I've used FCS 1 on a Mac Mini with Core Duo (not Core 2 Duo) and 1 GB of RAM. It was fine.
     
  18. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #18
    My girlfriend has the full Final Cut Studio installed on her black 2.0ghz C2D Macbook w/ 1GB RAM (last rev, correct?).
    We did all of the editing for our entry into the Apple Insomnia festival on her machine. It worked fine. Maybe FCS2 won't work, but if I remember correctly, FCS 1 had the same "no integrated graphics" restriction. I don't think it even bitched at her about not meeting requirements when we installed it.
    I know that she has used Final Cut Pro and Live Type on it extensively with no issues, though perhaps they would run better with a dedicated graphics card. I have no idea exactly what components of the software actually benefit from the gfx card. She has not really used the other software that comes with it as far as I know, so maybe it's within the other programs that the restriction lies.
     
  19. elvirav macrumors member

    elvirav

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California, off and on.
    #19
    I think it's Motion that causes FCS 1 to not be "officially" supported for MacBooks and Mac Minis, etc. I know that with my G4 Mac Mini, all the Final Cut apps would install except Motion. (The G4 Mac Mini had a 32 MB video card.) Now with the Intel Mac Mini (with 64 MB integrated graphics) I guess Motion will kinda sorta run, but not some of the higher end fuctions (?). Apple will still let you install Motion, even on systems with the GMA 950 graphics card.

    If you look at Final Cut Pro 5, its system requirements are pretty low compared to Final Cut Studio 1. That's because they have to factor in Motion when giving system requirements for the whole Studio suite.
     

Share This Page