FinalCut Pro on new MacBook?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by NotBrian?, May 29, 2010.

  1. NotBrian? macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #1
    Hello. I'm sorry that I'm posting this on 2 forums, but the digital one may get more responses. I am buying a new MacBook Pro for college, with some video editing planned. I have FC Studio 5.1, and the current FC Studio Upgrade pack, which I purchased for my iMac. Can I install the older 5.1 on the new Mac, so I can use the upgrade to the modern FC Pro? I'm concerned that the 5.1 might be too old... Thanks.
     
  2. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    you wont need to instal the older ver of Final cut studio on the new machine, you will just need the serial number from the older ver when you install the Final Cut Studio.
     
  3. NotBrian? thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #3
    Really? that would be nice. I thought the upgrade needed to access the older files and integrate with them.
     
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    The upgrade pack is a full install, it just doesn't come with a key. You have to supply one from when you originally bought FCS. Also, the FCS license allows you to install on one laptop and one desktop, so you can go ahead and install the upgrade pack on both machines, and give both your old key. It should work.
     
  5. Luba macrumors 6502a

    Luba

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #5
    Oh, that's great news. I thought I could only use on one machine, but the license makes sense -- one laptop and one desktop. I will be installing mine soon on my laptop.

     
  6. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    But also keep in mind that you will only be able to use one instance of FCP at a time. You can't have one running on the laptop while a copy is running on the desktop connected to the same network. It's Apple's implementation of copy protection.
     
  7. NotBrian? thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #7
    Thanks guys and gals. This is encouraging. As my computers will not be on the same network, or even in the same town, running 2 copies isn't a problem for me. Saving $1000 or so just before college expenses is a good thing.
     

Share This Page