Finally...going to buy a Macbook!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by syphern, Jan 15, 2008.

1. syphern macrumors 6502

Well guys ok. I know alot of people are going to bitch and moan at me and will say well the macbook air is not for your market etc etc. I am sorry about it, please accept the following as my opinion and the basis for other people to respond to my choice.

I am a Med student and since september, this year, we have started to go into firms and hospital placements and well my current acer laptop (served me very well) is old and 4 kilograms too heavy. I have like 3-5 books to carry in my bag too so during lunch or any break I can open and revise them.

I had heard Macbooks were great for portability but then this rumor site came up in a search back in sept. I learned about a thinner more portable macbook! Got me excited. Now upon the launch of Macbook Air I am afraid I have chosen to go for the original macbook.

Simply the reasons are:
    1. Ethernet - I know the "future" is all wireless but this was the first blow. My campus is old fashioned and wireless is a new tech to us (we dont even use PDA's in hospitals! Old fashioned Medicine from books!) so buying that USB ethernet would be a good idea. Plus I work in student halls to save money on rent etc and ALL the halls are wired...

2. It only has 1 USB slot which will be occupied by the ethernet so I cant really connect anything else to it while connected to the internet... This is not practical.

3. Medical software - now that mac can run windows some software out there which is amazing to use but most of them are on CD's for example I have this CD full of heart sounds etc well buying an external drive is not too bad.

4. But ultimately the price is what got me. With 3 years insurance it would cost me about £1,100 which is way too much for me. Plus the extras would make the cost go up to about £1,300...