Finally got a MacPro4,1, GTX 650 flashing.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 128keaton, May 31, 2015.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    Hey guys, I got lucky and scored a MacPro4,1, a large upgrade from my 1,1. Currently, I have a GTX 650 inside and I was curious if I can flash it for a boot screen. If not, would a GTX 750 Ti work better?

    I'm not quite on board with upgrading, as I don't have a bunch of spare cash laying around.
     
  2. Enzocagg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #2
    Congratulations on getting a newer Mac pro! As for the flashing, I'm not sure if it is possible, try googling "gtx 650 mac pro" or something like that. What I would do is get the cheapest Mac edition video card, and use that on a secondary monitor.
     
  3. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    I'm using a GT 210 to do exactly that, I just wanted to see if I could reduce heat and free up another PCI-E lane, since mine are completely full.
     
  4. reddemonic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #4
    how much you got it for? ebay right?

    i happen to get one on ebay as well for total £314
     
  5. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    Nope, local, free :)
     
  6. reddemonic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #6
    woot!! nice1 lol. mine is the base model Quadcore 2.6ghz with gt120 card. maybe we can help each other out to make our mac pro very best :)
     
  7. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
    Nice man. I just wish I could get a boot screen on my 650. I have the GT210 in the bottom slot, but I'd like to reduce heat and free another slot just by having my GTX 650 in there
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    We can do 650s.
     

Share This Page