finally got my imac i7 but have mouse problems

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dudeofblokes, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. dudeofblokes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #1
    finally got my imac i7 back from apple after arriving with damaged logic board and screen, got a fresh 2 tb harddrive installed into and was all set to set her up.

    currently staying at mums for a week, took machine all software i needed and the keyboard but i forgot the magic mouse, had a brand new usb mouse up here and althought the optical lights up the pointer wont move on my mac :(

    looks like ill have to wait another 6 days until i can get it set up, im very disappointed as the mouse works on my macbook but at the install screen the imac doesnt respond to it :(
     
  2. bolen macrumors 6502

    bolen

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Tried all USB ports? Do you have any other USB peripheral that you could try to determine that it isn't the USB ports that's defective... can't see why your mouse should't work.
     
  3. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #3
    unfortunately because its at the install screen the only thing that would show is a mouse, the harddrive is empty so i cant boot back into anything to test others, yeah i tried all the ports but its the same thing, power going through but no response :(
     
  4. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #4
    Are you using the USB mouse on glass or a reflective surface? Did you try plugging in the mouse and then restarting the iMac to see if that makes a difference? Have you tried zapping the PRAM/NVRAM?
     
  5. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #5
    im not sure how to do the zappng as its the wireless keyboard and theres no os installed. i have tried unplugging and restarting tho
     
  6. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #6
    Here's how to zap the PRAM/NVRAM:

    :apple: Resetting your Mac's PRAM and NVRAM

    I always wait until I hear the chime repeat 2-3 times.

    I believe that this will work with an Apple Bluetooth keyboard.
     
  7. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #7
    tried that there and it did the double chime but still no luck, the imac mustnt like the mouse i guess, thanks anyway dude
     
  8. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #8
    Can't you install the OS without a mouse? Maybe it would work after the OS is installed?
     
  9. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #9
    the first question to choose the language allows me to click return, but the next page "click continue to install...." the continue button is only lit by blue around it and i find only buttons entirely blue accept return from the keyboard, guess ill have to wait a little longer just so desperate to enjoy it
     
  10. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #10
    Take a look at this Apple doc, maybe Tab or something else will work:

    :apple: Mac OS X keyboard shortcuts
     
  11. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #11
    appreciate the help but doesnt look like i can go far without the mouse its a pity, but at least i have my baby here now so its something to look forward to i guess
     
  12. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #12
    It would drive me completely bonkers to have it sitting there and not be able to use it.

    I've always heard that any USB mouse should work with a Mac, at least on the basic level as a pointing device, all the wiz bang features may not be supported but it should work.

    Here's one more thing, it's a long shot, but might get the mouse to show up:

    :apple: Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)
     
  13. dudeofblokes thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    carrickfergus, northern ireland, united kingdom
    #13
    still no luck it must just not be registering right or something but at least power is going through, its driving me mad but noting else i can do unfortunately thank u for your help
     

Share This Page