FINALLY I'm able to test my programs on my iPhone!

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by chrono1081, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    My iPhone SDk 3.0 finally arrived in the mail today and I already had registered as a developer on Apple, downloaded the certificates, I plug my iPhone in and ... hm... nothing. Ok Probably some steps I missed...


    I check apples website, I see about signing up for some provisioning thing, so I go through the tutorial, download more certificates, still not working...


    I check again, I try everything again from scratch, follow everything again, check all the certificates, check my code, try with new blank templates, check apples site again delete it all and try again!

    Long story short after four times of trying to get rid of the stupid little error (I forget the error but it means your phone provisioning thing isnt found) I can FINALLY put programs on my iPhone!

    Anyone else think the activation process is a wee bit of a pain in the ass?
     
  2. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #2
    It's Apple's secret iPhone developer qualifying exam.

    If you can't find, carefully read, and follow all the instructions, you can't submit apps to their already overloaded App store approval process.
     
  3. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #3
    Haha I wasn't even trying to upload anything for sale. I just wanted to test on a hardware device vs the simulator.


    Out of morbid curiosity I redid the whole process after I got it working and found what was wrong. Going through the wizard, the section where it tells you to drop the provisioning file into the Organizer window, I found that I have to drop it in two places, not one. The first being the main window under iPhone, and the second being under "Provisioning Profiles" even though the wizard says "Drag it into the window and it'll put the files in for you." Lies! :eek:

    Oh well hopefully this will help someone else who may run into this same problem.

    Now off to learn more Objective-C so I can start porting my little C++ and SDL games to iPhone. (I'm not taking the cheap way out and writing a wrapper or emulator. *cough* Sega and Capcom *cough*
     
  4. Kingbombs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    Emulators arn't allowed, but keeping it in C++ allows for greater portability if you choose to then design your game for other platforms
    And is probably just as effecient keeping it in C++ if not better
     
  5. rstafford84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    #5
    Out of curiosity, what did you mean that it arrived in the mail?
     
  6. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #6
    I live and work in the same area and where I work we have strict limits on downloads, and since the SDK is a whopping 2 GB I have to have my family back home download it, burn it to disk, and mail it to me.



    Also as far as emulation I didn't realize it wasn't allowed. I read an article saying that capcom and sega did it (which would explain why games like MegaMan II lag even on a new 3Gs)
     
  7. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    I'm not sure how I'd go about doing something like that. They are written in C++ and SDL and I would assume I could write some sort of wrapper but I've never done it and wouldn't know where to start.
     
  8. Kingbombs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #8
    It may be helpful it may not be but i know John Carmack made his code opensource for wolfenstein on the iPhone
    you can try that, that uses c code

    Thats the first thing i can think of thats opensource off the top of my head and without googleing it
     
  9. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    Hm I wasn't aware of that. I'll have to take a look. Thank you for the suggestion :D
     
  10. variable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    #10
    You could always use corona...
     

Share This Page