Finally made up my mind. One more quick question before I go to the store.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by NYU02, May 2, 2009.

  1. NYU02 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #1
    Ok, so after posting a billion questions (thanks everyone for helping me out!) I think I have made up my mind. I was thinking of getting a mini and a rev. A because I already have a 20inch cinema display and like to sit at my desk when I'm doing work. The only reason why I wanted the mini was for the HD space. SO...

    Instead of getting a mini I was thinking of just getting the Rev. B HD (praying I don't get lines) and hook up an external HD to my cinema display.

    My questions are:
    1) Can that be done? Hooking a HD to my cinema display. So when I sit down and plug my monitor into my Rev. B MBA it will sync with it.
    2) Dumb Question - Does the MBA work with the Previous Version Cinema Display? I don't like the new ones... too glossy!
    3) Well!!! What do you guys/girls think?

    I'm going to get it at best buy because they are pretty good in case there are lines.

    Thanks,
    NYU02
     
  2. King t. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #2
    first cool that u have decided to buy a MBA rev:B, very good choice ;)

    to your questions:

    1. yes, there should be no problem syncing your MBA with the cinema display, all u need to buy is the mini adapter.
    2. yes, the MBA will also work with the older displays.
    3. go ahead and buy yourself a MBA rev:B and don't look back and as soon as the SSD'S get cheaper, you then can easily upgrade to a nice SSD. (that's what I'll do, as soon as the prices start to drop for the SSD's) :cool:
     
  3. NYU02 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #3
    thanks! I look forward to it.

    With syncing to the monitor. If I have an external hard drive attached to the monitor my MBA will pick it up when I plug my screen into it, right?

    Thanks,
    NYU02
     
  4. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Yep, everything will work great. All you need is the Mini-Displayport to DVI adapter for $29. The USB hub will work flawlessly and you won't have any issues with the adapter/display. The only thing that will not work (obviously) is the FireWire hub on the Cinema Display.
     
  5. NYU02 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #5
    if my external hard drive has firewire, why don't it work on the cinema display?
     
  6. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    There's a FireWire hub on the Cinema Display. A hub would require a FireWire port on the actual computer. The MacBook Air has no FireWire port.
     
  7. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #7
    Hate to rain on your parade but just expect to get one with lines. I have Rev B with faint lines and it's really not nearly how people make it out to be on this forum. The MBA has the best screen of all the Macbooks. If it's functioning well and as no dead or stuck pixels keep it otherwise you will be caught up in the infamous endless exchanges thinking you will get lucky and get one with no lines. It's not gonna happen.
     
  8. mrrippey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #8
    Well keep switching at the :apple:store until you get one you are satisfied with.
     
  9. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #9
    It doesn't work that way. After a couple of exchanges the store can refuse to open another one and will give you a refund.
     
  10. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #10
    Trust me, Amazon is your safest bet. They are better than Best Buy when it comes to the lines issue.
     
  11. youssefm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
  12. andrewp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #12
    I'm not sure whether the HD part is right...It won't work well with .mkv files, at least not with my pioneer 50"
     
  13. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #13
    Why? I have a A paid 999.00 for it.No problems, no fans, works great!
    The current A's are nothing like the very first A's they work great!
     

Share This Page