Finally make the jump to Apple

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Gordo1234, Apr 15, 2013.

1. Gordo1234 macrumors newbie

Newbie here,

Just wanted some advice on my next purchase. I do a lot of design work which consists of anywhere from Autocad to indesign by adobe. I also do some web design work. I am in need a of a new computer. I want to purchase it in the next 2 weeks hopefully. My budget is around $2000. I've been comparing both MBP's and IMac's. I don't have a preference since I only travel a couple times a year for work. Anyone else work with autocad and which is better in your eyes the screen real estate or the mobility? I have never used Autocad for mac is it the same or worse then the windows version?

These two i've been looking at:

15-inch: 2.3GHz

2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    500GB 5400-rpm hard drive1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 512MB of GDDR5 memory
    Built-in battery (7 hours)2

$1,799.00

27-inch: 2.9GHz

2.9GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    8GB (two 4GB) memory
    1TB hard drive1
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M with 512MB

$1,799.00

2. KylePowers macrumors 68000

KylePowers

Performance aside, it really just comes down to if you'd prefer a laptop and 15 inches or a desktop and 27 inches.

Nonetheless, for a good deal on price, I'd recommend checking out refurbs, Amazon (new and used), MacConnection, open-box Best Buy, and heck, even this list from AppleInsider: http://appleinsider.com/mac_price_guide/

FWIW, I'd get the 27in iMac if I was doing all sorts of design. I do circuit design/layouts myself, and I can only stand doing it on my 13in MBA for a short while. Definitely prefer my 27in.

3. Gordo1234 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for your input. Ill take a look at those sites.

4. MacAPOL macrumors member

MacAPOL