Finally pulled the trigger!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by smacman, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. smacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #1
    Hey everyone. Been researching for a month or so now and I've finally pulled the trigger on the following system.

    One 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    6GB (3x2GB)
    1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB
    One 18x SuperDrive
    One 30" ACD

    I've bought an Intel X25-M G2 160gb which will be my boot / applications drive. I also plan to purchase two more 1TB WD Black drives, as well as a 2TB drive of some sort for backup. 2 of the 1TB drives will be setup with software Raid 0 for data, and the other 1TB drive will boot Windows 7. My only reservation was with the 6GB of RAM. Unfortunately, I'll have to wait a while before I can afford to order 12gb, and 3GB would have been inadequate for the time being.

    Thanks to all that participate in these forums for the wealth of information.
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    we kinda need a "just got my mac pro" - collection thread :rolleyes:
     
  3. 3587 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #3
    Sweet! Where did you get the SSD from and how much did you pay for it?
     
  4. smacman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #4
    Ordered it from NCIX.COM and paid 529.99 CAD. I have noticed the price has since been raised to 549.99 but there is still stock..
     
  5. uujamchen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
  6. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #6
    Congrats! That's a beautifully configured Apple machine.
     
  7. smacman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #7
    The system was delivered a couple of days ago and I could not be happier with it. The first thing I did was open it up and add 2 WD 1TB RE3 drives (Raid 0) and 1 Hitachi 2 TB drive for backup. I then installed my Intel 160GB G2 SSD (OSX and Apps) into the secondary optical bay. Finally, I reinstalled OSX and all my apps onto the SSD. All I can say is Wow! Pics attached..
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Congratulations!
    Nice setup. Pretty much exactly the same than mine and I couldn't be happier with it (besides of a bigger display of course ;)).
    No wait, one thing that bothers me are the WD blacks. Great performance, but pretty loud compared to the rest of the system.

    BTW: Copying the pre-installed system from the WD drive to the SSD using Carbon Copy Cloner would have saved you more than an hour. :rolleyes:
     
  9. smacman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #9
    Believe it or not, it only took about 15 minutes to install OSX freshly onto the SSD. I ended up installing Windows 7 on the factory installed 1 TB WD Black and I know what you mean about them being noisy. Strangely my WD RE3 drives are almost silent.
     
  10. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    15 minutes?
    I don't think that I can top that using CCC. :eek:
     
  11. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #11
    beautiful setup man .. im definitely jealous:)
    I cannot wait till i can purchase mine in 6 months
     

Share This Page