Finally ShockWave native for Intel!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by VaDor, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. VaDor macrumors regular

    VaDor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portugal,Palmela
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Well maybe this was important 3 years ago, but I haven't had any problems without Shockwave...its nice to get a 1MB/s download speed though, kinda shows they were expecting more people to download it using up the bandwidth.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    well i thought id never see the day!

    but shockwave isnt used much anymore so it never really was an issue.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Am I right in saying that all Adobe software is now Intel native or discontinued?

    And the Wiki is now updated just incase someone somewhere was going to check :p
     
  5. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Having never had it on my Intel Macs I have to ask myself... do I really need it now :confused:
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    Yes, I wonder the same thing. Does anyone actually use Shockwave anymore? I haven't seen it used anywhere, besides the odd game site - and that was 3 years ago.
     
  7. VaDor thread starter macrumors regular

    VaDor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portugal,Palmela
    #7
    Some games im miniclip use it, but in the other hand finally we have this native... I am seing is more and more games using M$ silverlight :( there's plugin for mac but I don't know how regular M$ will update the mac plugin vs the windows plugin
     
  8. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #8
  9. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #9
    Yes!!!!! I can play iSketch again!!! :D

    Edit: Apparently there are problems using it with iSketch. . *sighs*
     
  10. callmemike20 macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Well isn't this great.

    I was on a website (can't remember which now) that required flash on Tuesday the 25th. I went to adobes website only to find out its not available. Now it is! If only I can find that website again.
     
  11. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #11
    callmemike20

    You may have heard of it. Revolutionary, it's just.. amazing. It's called History. What it does it stores the URLS so you can go back and find that very site!

    *Each sold seperatly has been around for years & your browser might keep it for 1 day so ignore my attempt at being funny post.
     
  12. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #12
    Well it's about time, I had given up hope a LONG time ago, I though they were just trying to phase out Shockwave, and replace it with Flash, and was never expecting this update. But it's here, so YAY! Finally I can play Candystand Pool without having to start Safari in Rosetta, which never really worked well.

    Im am seriously curious though, what the heck took so long?
     
  13. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    This definitely falls under the category: FINALLY!!

    Some schools which are our clients needed Shockwave.. and I had to install a browser to put it into Rosetta mode, just to get it working...

    But now, Safari and Firefox can finally run @ full speed..... (gr8full it's here.. but really about a year late).
     
  14. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Well apparently they'll keep the releases together, unless they start doing really well against Flash they'll have to. I am cynical too though.
     

Share This Page