Finally upgrading to Leopard

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gorby, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. gorby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #1
    The disc came with my iMac, but I've resisted the urge to upgrade until now (10.5.2), partly because I wanted to know what Tiger was like (this is my first mac ever)

    Any tips you can impart before I attempt this? I've read some stuff about "repair your hard drive and permissions before installing." What's this all about?


    I don't have any real critical 3rd part apps other than the Adobe Creative Suite. Am I cool to just pop in the disc and click 'upgrade'?
     
  2. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    yep just pop it in


    your adobe will ask you for S/N again when u launch it..

    maybe a few other apps will ask for the s/n / cd-keys again , like Toast, but thats about it
     
  3. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #3
    I strongly advise against the "Upgrade" option. In the long run, its much better to do a erase and install. It's definitely more of a pain in the ass, but many of the complaints centered around Leopard have been from people who upgraded. When I got my iMac out the box, I did an erase and install on a clean system. If you don't want to go through the pain of backing up, I would at least do an archive and install.
     
  4. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #4
    I have a large external hard drive connected. What is the best way to make a "PERFECT" backup of my current hard drive onto that External, so that if I wipe it and upgrade to Leopard, and it doesn't work, or I hate it, I can go back to exactly like it was under Tiger?

    The 'Backup' Utility of Tiger doesn't seem to do this.
     
  5. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #5
    As far as repairing permissions goes. Go to the Utilities folder in you applications folder, open up disk utilities and then click on "repair permissions" It'll take a couple of minutes. It's good thing to do this maybe once a month or so.
     
  6. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #6
    YES!!!

    The exact second you pop into your imac desktop, software update launches, close it out IMMEDIATELY. The only thing that I allow you to do in Tiger is pop in the Leopard disc and install. Thats what i did. I did a Tiger set up, at my tiger desktop, immidiatly restarted. Though i did want to play in tiger a bit just to get its feel. But upgrading if you haven't done anything in tiger is almost like erase and install.
     
  7. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    I've never done an OS upgrade, I always do the " Erase and install ".

    Oh wait, I once did an OS upgrade and boy what a nightmare that was, but that was with Microsoft Windows. I guess that is where I learned not to do an upgrade.

    I think others might be on the mark, if you have not done much in Tiger the risks will be low. Even son I am a big fan of doing a fresh install of any OS.
     
  8. gorby thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #8
    Sounds like fresh install is the way to go, thanks guys.

    And thanks for the info on repairing permissions ugg, I didn't know that!
     
  9. MacBooksRock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
  10. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #10
    Does anyone know how to do this?
     
  11. chrisconfessed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Essex, England.
    #11
    I have a new 20" mac - I was two days out of the discount for Leopard! Darn. BUT I just did the upgrade and it worked perfectly for me, no complaints here :D
     

Share This Page