Financing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Apollo7011, Apr 12, 2010.

1. Apollo7011 macrumors member

How strict is apple about the baylard or whatever the name is financing cards?I'm currently 19 and have pretty good credit for my age but will it be enough? Does it help if I contribute alot of money to it like let's say I'll put half on my visa and then throw the rest on the baylard card. Or maybe that doesn't do anything? Sorry I'm a noob when it comes to credit :p thx

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

That last line leads me to believe that you shouldn't go this route. The penalties and interest aren't exactly the greatest, so I'd recommend waiting until you have the money.

3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

You will not be approved for a line of credit through Apple/Barclays. You just...won't. Try a student loan.

Reasoning: at 19 you will not have sufficient credit history to build a great profile. Even if you have zero util and a decent amount of credit (500-1000) , the length will simply be too short.

4. snakesqzns macrumors regular

snakesqzns

If you can qualify, you're best bet is probably the 0% interesting financing from Best Buy. I think they do 18 months by default, but I've seen 3 year 0% deals come up once and a while.

5. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

techfreak85

A computer is not something you should finance. Heck, you shouldn't even finance anything, except a house.

6. Surely Guest

Surely

Spot on.

OP, you are a credit card company's ideal customer: Someone who doesn't understand how it works, but wants shiny things.

7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

What do you mean by this? Put half on your Visa? Half of what?

Are you at least making the minimum payment?

Rest of what? Is it enough to make the minimum payment?

8. snakesqzns macrumors regular

snakesqzns

He's saying that if buying a $2000 Mac, he'd want to put $1000 on his Visa, then finance the other $1000 through Barclays.