Find my 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DBrown11, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. DBrown11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #1
    Will the Find my Iphone feature only work with Iphone 4? This is off of apple.com.

    Find My iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
    Find My iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch — the MobileMe feature that helps you locate your missing device and protect its data — is now free on any iPhone 4, iPad, or fourth-generation iPod touch running iOS 4.2.3 Once you set it up, you can find your lost device on a map, display a message on its screen, remotely set a passcode lock, and initiate a remote wipe to delete your data. And if you eventually find your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, you can restore everything from your last backup.
     
  2. ugahairydawgs macrumors 68030

    ugahairydawgs

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #2
    Yeah....as of now it looks like the 3GS is not a part of this.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    Not that the 3GS isn't capable of it. Find my iPhone worked perfectly on my 3GS as soon as the feature was available. But that was (and is) on a paid Mobile Me account.

    You could still do the 2-month free trial, and then search Amazon for Mobile Me retail box editions. The "old version" boxes still contain valid codes for a year of paid Mobile Me and cost less than half what Apple will charge.

    Still not free, but at least you can get all the other stuff, if it's useful to you.
     
  4. SirDarren macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #4
    I've heard a way to get around this is by creating the MobileMe account on an iPhone 4 and then using it with your 3GS or whatever.

    Not sure how that makes sense though. Anybody have some insight?
     
  5. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #5
    According to 9to5mac, someone said they got it to work on their 3GS.

    Well, find out more in the next hour or so as people try it.
     
  6. pitt1717 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #6
    it works, just setup my wifes 3G and it comes up fine....nice apple, thanks!!!
     
  7. UnitedLax342 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    #7
    It says my 3GS is not qualified for free mobile me account. :(
     
  8. pitt1717 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #8
    you need to have an IP4, ipad or 4th gen to setup. once thats done use the same login on any other device. so basically, i put my wifes 3g under my account so i can see the 2 devices on 1 screen
     
  9. jackaz127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #9
    really? so if I set up an account with my ipad I will then be able to use Find My Phone with my 3GS??? :)
     
  10. pitt1717 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #10
    yeppers
     
  11. jackaz127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #11
    awesome! thanks :D
     
  12. APtalent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #12
    ARGH!!! Stop finding exploits! It's ip4 and iPad exclusive only!
     
  13. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #13

Share This Page