"Find My iPhone" Frustration

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MaxRady, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. MaxRady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #1
    I am trying to setup the "Find my iPhone" application, but it's giving me the business! I am following the instructions on Apple's website to get my account rolling, but when i go to add a MobileMe account, i type my Apple ID in, and the password, and i get a "Device Not Supported - This iPhone is not qualified for free MobileMe service." message. I am running iOS 4.2.1, and i have a 3Gs. I know they have a strict 3-device limit, but i have not set this up on anything else! Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. FSMBP macrumors 68020

    FSMBP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #2
    You need to have an iPhone 4 got free find my iPhone.
     
  3. snowleopard13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #3
    isn't this service only free with the iPhone 4, iPad and newest iPod Touch Generation? (and not 3GS)
     
  4. MaxRady thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #4
    Well...problem solved. Now i feel like an idiot...:)
     
  5. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #5
    You just need to set up the account on an iPhone 4. Once you've set up the account on a 4, delete it from the 4 and you can then set it up on your 3GS and have your free Find My iPhone.

    And yes this works. This is how I set up free find my iPhone on my daughter's 2nd gen iPod Touch.

    So hopefully you know someone with an iPhone 4! (maybe this will work with a 4th gen iPod Touch and iPad as well, I can only verify it working with an iPhone 4)
     
  6. snowleopard13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #6
    but you should know that the number of iDevices you can activate on each iPhone 4 is limited. i don't remember if it's 3 or 5 devices.
     
  7. Goldinboy17 macrumors 65816

    Goldinboy17

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca
    #7
    Just set it up on a 4th gen iTouch or iPhone and voila.
     
  8. MaxRady thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #8
    Ok sounds good, I will give it a shot! Thanks!
     

Share This Page