Find my iPhone now up on me.com

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by macbookairman, Jun 9, 2009.

1. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

The Find my iPhone feature showed off yesterday is now on me.com. You can see how it looks at me.com/account. But, you can't use it till 3.0 is out. (unless you have the 3.0 beta)

2. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

Buschmaster

It's working for those of us lucky enough, and perfectly, at that.

3. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

Jeremy1026

It works just as advertised. The sound will play for 2 minutes if you don't stop it. Sending messages takes less then a second, and the map works perfectly. The only thing I havn't tried is remote wipe, just because I don't want to take the time to restore it.

4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

I'm a registered developer and have the 3.0GM. It works as advertised.

5. macbookairman thread starter macrumors 6502a

I read the help documents linked to on the Find my iPhone page, and it appears the service will be available for iPod Touch too. I was wondering if it would be, because all the info on the apple website talked about using it with iPhones.

I'm wondering how useful it will be though...just because the iPod Touch would need to have a Wi-Fi connection and the location info can be way off sometimes. I just hope in the future if I lose it, I lose it in a place with Wi-Fi!

6. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

Buschmaster

As long as it catches the messages, maybe someone can return it to you.

7. nathan1281 macrumors member

For those lucky ones that get to test it first. Three questions.
    1) If it says the phone is off line will it tell you the last spot that it was?
    2) If you are in a building where gps isn't available will it still use the 3g or edge connection to give a decent guess as to where the phone is located?