Find My iPone WAY WRONG!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DotCom2, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. DotCom2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #1
    In testing the new Apple "Find My iPhone" App, it says my phone is 200 miles away from where it actually is!
    I could see if it just couldn't find my phone at all but 200 miles OFF!
    What if I really did lose my phone and I was given this totally wrong info? :eek:
     
  2. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
  3. steemax macrumors regular

    steemax

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    thennnn you'd be out of luck lol, maybe the gps reception where you are is just weak to none existent? Does google maps find your phone with exact coords?
     
  4. the-oz-man macrumors 6502

    the-oz-man

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    I tried this out this afternoon and it found all of my devices that have been active in the last week. The 3G iPhone took a little while, but my wife's 3GS pulled up in seconds. Great feature for keeping tabs on her! :D
     
  5. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #5
    We have a 3G (which is the one I tested so far) and a 3GS and two iPads.
    A 32 GB 3G and a 32GB wifi.
    Haven't tested those yet.
     
  6. Tara Luvs Apple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #6
    When I tried it, it was locating for a few minutes before I closed it. What is the point of it if I can not even locate it?!
     
  7. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #7
    You're looking for "Find My iPhone".
    "Find My iPone" is always wrong.
     
  8. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #8
    Just tested the 3GS and it showed it the same 200 miles wrong as the 3G.
    The iPad 3G came up right away and was right on!
    This is just great! I certainly have a lot more chance of losing an iPhone than an iPad.:mad:
     
  9. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #9
    YES!
    Google Maps found me just fine!
    This App SUCKS!
     
  10. maviso5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Kent
    #10
    made me laugh. the app worked great for me
     
  11. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #11
    Just tested mine on a 3GS, both on the app- and the new MM website.

    Both found me, dead on perfect in <20 seconds. The new web interface is screaming fast; it used to take about 1-2 minutes.
     
  12. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #12
    I showed the app to someone this morning and he was amazed it pinpointed our location to the right part of his house. An hour later, I was still there and it said my phone was 2 towns away.
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    Works fine for me. It was within 20 feet or so on both my wife's 3GS and mine in about 30 seconds.

    Also please go to Edit > Go Advanced on your first post and edit your title to fix your spelling error and remove the all-caps.
     
  14. timmypv15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #14
    I actually read about this somewhere else...not sure where, but it might help.

    Are you connected to a wifi router? The other story I read (it was a year or so ago, and the problem was with where the phone was showing up in google maps) but the A-GPS in the iPhone was using data about the GPS location of the Router, which the owner had moved from his house to his work. So when he was at work, the gps was showing him at home because it was going off information from the router which still thought it was at home.

    Again, take it with a grain of salt - memory of the post is sketchy.
     
  15. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #15
    OK well that could make sense since I am on wifi except I've not been to where it says I am.
     
  16. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #16
    I just tried it from MM from the web and it worked just fine on all devices but the iPhone App...not so much! :(
     
  17. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #17
    My 3G service isn't activated on my iPad, and it wouldn't even show ANYTHING for my iPad at all. It keeps saying that it encounters an error after trying for 10 minutes to find it. Again, my 3G service is not activated on iPad, maybe this is why.
     
  18. DotCom2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    #18
    Check to see if you have "Location Services" set to "ON" because I don't have the 3G service activated yet either and mine works fine.
     
  19. Gagoots macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
  20. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #20
    REALY?
     
  21. Maverick713 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #21
    nevermind
     
  22. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #22
    Mine has been showing me in Charlotte NC for months now, even after it says location complete. I am in Charleston SC. Tried turning location off then back on. Maps finds me just fine and GPS works for navigation.
     
  23. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #23
    Gets me within 1/2 block of my location every time. Now if I could just find a way to figure out where my kids are with such accuracy!:D
     
  24. ChocolateApple macrumors 6502

    ChocolateApple

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #24
    Mine Was Accurate

    Tested on my 3GS and iPad (with Wi-Fi activated on both), and it was exact.

    I like the alarm, ability to lock and send a message. Maybe it did that before, but I'd never tried it.

    However, the alert is too friendly :rolleyes:
     
  25. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #25
    Are you sure it's your iPhone?
     

Share This Page