Find out processor speed for g5 power mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys

    Found a power mac g5 in my area but the guy has no video card in it, any ideas how to find out which CPUs are in it?

    Thanks
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    If you can pop the side panel, look for a gray sticker toward the bottom that should give all the relevant info.
     
  3. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #3
    The cover for the processor? Or the plastic cover under the aluminum door
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Remove the aluminum side panel and look near the bottom where the grove that it fits into is. You'll see the grey sticker there.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    You should be able to see it when you remove the aluminum side door. Look on the "ledge" at the bottom where the door sits.
     
  6. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Open the side door - there will be a sticker along the bottom edge when you open the door.
    The sticker will have the serial number for the system, and other identifying info.
     
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    Here's the sticker on mine to show you what to look for. Notice the bottom line of text on the right half of the sticker.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #10
    Thanks again, I emailed him back and will wait for his reply
     
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    Mine:
    [​IMG]
    Actual location:
    [​IMG]
    Location on a G4 QS (Below PSU):
    [​IMG]
    Location on a Cube:
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #12
    Turns out it was a Mac Pro, not a power mac... He was selling it to be used as a mod for a pc build
     
  13. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #13
    Buy it for the Intell-igence.
     
  14. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #14
    Has nothing inside, no ram no hdd no screen card no dvd drives. I got him down to $60 but not sure it'll be worth it as I'll be paying a lot to fix it up.
     
  15. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #15
    Meh, true. Mine didn't have HDDs/DVD drives. I still don't have DVD drives.
     
  16. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #16
    I have hdd and dvd drives, just would need to find ram and video card.
     
  17. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #17
    I recommend an ASUS gt210. Cheap, works well as a stop-gap for a newer card. Its $30 on Amazon, sadly no EFI boot. PowerBook medic has good RAM for the Mac Pros.
     
  18. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #18
    In canada so the price will be higher but I definitely will check it out.
     
  19. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #19
    Oh Canada, oh Canada, how the syrup runs so sweeeeeet. 500th post.
     
  20. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  21. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #21
    Update: it's a first gen Mac Pro. Problem is it's also missing the drive caddies on top of the ram/dvd drives/screen card/and hdd. Fans work when plugged in and a hd connected spins up so power doesn't seem to be an issue. Now to decide if I repair it or not.
     
  22. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #22
    So what exactly does it have in it?
     
  23. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #23
    Motherboard, fans, ram slot pieces, pretty much it.
     
  24. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #24

    Is it really worth rebuilding then?
     
  25. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #25
    Getting it checked out at a store near me. They're gonna quote me a price for parts/labour and a quote to purchase it from me.
     

Share This Page