Finder cannot be opened...Huh?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by slapguts, May 8, 2010.

  1. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Lately I've been getting this error more and more often.

    The application Finder can't be opened.
    -10810

    I did some searching, and the only info I could find was for other applications, but nothing on Finder.

    I get it from a fresh restart, with only Safari and iStat Menus running. Whatever is causing it is also hammering the processor to 100%. It's taken me almost 5 minutes just to type out this thread.

    I'm on a 1st gen. MacBook Air, running Snow Leopard, fully up to date.

    Am I looking at a fresh install?
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    First go to Terminal and type killall -9 Finder

    Then go to ~/Library/Preferences and delete the com.apple.finder.plist (after copying it to the desktop).

    Reopen Finder and see if things are improved.
     
  3. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    This has been an ongoing issue in Snow Leopard. I was getting it in 10.6.2 on my Mac Pro, but I haven't had it happen lately or on 10.6.3 at all.

    As this CNET article notes, it may be related to external or network drives which may very well be the case (I personally use network home directories and always have at least one AFP share mounted).

    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-10365239-263.html

    Try some of the techniques noted there.

    There is also an ongoing discussion at Apples boards (32 pages):

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2135129&tstart=0

    Good luck.
     
  4. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #4
    Thanks for the links.

    32 pages, crap. It seems any time a thread over there gets over ten pages, the situation gets pretty hopeless.
     
  5. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Check the last page, you can run this:

    Code:
    /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/MacOS/Finder &
    In terminal to get it going again without a restart.
     
  6. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #6
    Tried that, no luck. Here's what I get-

    MacBookAir:~ name$ /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/MacOS/Finder &
    [1] 1236
    MacBookAir:~ name$ /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/MacOS/Finder &
    [2] 1249
    MacBookAir:~ name$ /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/MacOS/Finder &
    [3] 1282
    MacBookAir:~ name$


    Finder stays in it's sad little 'Application not responding' state. I do get a new error number, though. -1712. So that's progress, right?
     
  7. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Man, this really is a horrible bug. Hence the 32 pages!

    Most are reporting that Finder comes back to life after that. Sorry I can't be of more help. I have been following this bug, but nothing definitive has come out about it.

    Maybe try applying the 10.6.3 combo update?

    http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1017
     
  8. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #8
    If I hard crash it, and restart, it comes back fine.

    Until I try to connect to my Airport disk, which is where Time Machine backs up to. I guess I'll have to drag out the USB cables and make sure my Time Machine disk is still intact, and do a re-install. Bummer.

    Thanks for your help, though. It's appreciated.
     
  9. slapguts thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #9
    Re-installed the 10.6.3 combo update, and it seems to have solved it, for now. I did have to go in to Airport Utility, and tell it that there was a disk drive connected to the Airport Extreme, but my Time Machine backups are intact.

    So, good news, for now anyway.
     
  10. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Awesome! Hope it continues to work. As I said, I haven't had any issues with 10.6.3, but 10.6.2 was a nightmare.
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    10.6.2 was nothing for me, and I haven't gone to 10.6.3, because I heard that was a nightmare. :confused::)
     
  12. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    Someone always says each OS update is a nightmare.
     
  13. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    That's kind of true, but I don't remember all the posts after 10.6.2 that 10.6.3 got. Did I miss something?
     
  14. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    I seem to remember a fair amount of people welcoming 10.6.3 hoping it would fix the problems they had with 10.6.2. What issues are people having with 10.6.3? I have none.
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    I forget them all, but there were issues with printers, some couldn't get their computers to boot, etc. It scared me enough to wait.
     
  16. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16
    I have none either.

    The "nightmares" vary by individual. It all depends on your setup. For me, since I have a network home directory I am always connected to my server, and thus satisfying one of the conditions for the bug in question here.

    Because of this, my system would often go into meltdown mode. I had to switch to a portable home directory with syncs every hour to stop it.

    Since moving to 10.6.3, I moved back to my network home and things are peachy.
     

Share This Page