Finder Going Crazy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by expos4ever, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. expos4ever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #1
    Finder is acting strangely. In the panel where I normally see the files, I see a hodgepodge of strange things, for example my desktop photo and multiple images of the "dock" (all the icons at the bottom). Or to generalize, this panel acts like a literal window in the sense what you see in it is what is "behind" the panel. This is not 100% correct - there are distortions and other strange visual effects. In effect, the panel appears to be acting as a "camera" that captures and sometimes distorts what was on the display before Finder is invoked.

    What is going on? I am not a techie.

    And restarting does not fix the problem.
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    Shift-Command-3 to take a screenshot then (if there's nothing sensitive or confidential in the shot) please add it to this topic.
     
  3. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    You are running a MBP I assume? They are prone to graphical errors.
     
  4. Ichkamo macrumors member

    Ichkamo

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    #4
    Wasn't it the following?

    SHIFT+COMMAND+4 chosen area shot
    SHIFT+COMMAND+5 fullscreen shot
     
  5. expos4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #5
    See attached. As you can see, part of the Finder panel displays a chunk of my Chrome window in which I was browsing this very forum.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 20, 2016 ---
    Yes.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Sully macrumors regular

    Sully

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #6
    Mine is doing this too. Do the rest of your apps work if you open them outside finder?
     
  7. expos4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #7
    Yes, the ones I have been using appear to function normally.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Nope... shift-cmd-3 is a full screen.
     
  9. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #9
    Something has become messed up in your installation. An update to the latest OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 should fix it.
     
  10. expos4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #10
    Thanks, I will try this.
     
  11. expos4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #11
    I updated and the problem appears to have been fixed. Thanks.
     
  12. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #12
    - Good to know. Glad it helped.
     

Share This Page