Finder Question ? >>>

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Avzone, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. Avzone macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #1
    Accidently I dragged a folder to the top of my finder window and there it stayed ?
    I thought maybe this is a temporary place, so I could open wherever and then drag it to where I wanted, but I tried this and now i am left with a question mark '?' that I cannot clear ?
    Please advise.
    Thanks!
    :)
     
  2. hughvane macrumors 6502

    hughvane

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
    #2
    Go to Finder > Preferences ? Sidebar and see if that ? is listed in the top section with a check box beside it. If so, and the box is checked, uncheck it and see what happens in the Finder window.
     
  3. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  4. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #4
    >>>

    .. Its not in the white window with the other icons its directly above on the main toolbar under the x - +
    I have had it before and then dragged the folder from the to another location or dragged it somewhere not needed so it would show the animation of going up in a puff of smoke!
    :confused:
     
  5. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #5
    When you say "the top of the finder window" do you mean in the top left where I have dragged my System Folder too? If so just right click, or Control +Click on it and click Remove Item. The folder should still be in the original location, it is just an alias to it in your Finder toolbar.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #6
    You can hold down apple and drag anything up into the top area that I am thinking you are talking about. You should be able to apple+drag it out as well. But all it is doing is creating an alias to the original item. A question mark would mean that the original item was moved or deleted, so the alias can't find what it is looking for. Apple+drag the question mark off the window to get rid of it.
     
  7. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #7
    >>>

    Ah Thanks you two.
    Decksnap, you got it, that was the problem. All Sorted!
    Todd2000 How d'ya do that SnapShot of your screen, I tried using Grab but all the options are grayed out?
    :confused:
    When Apple ships there computers out, why don't they include a comprehensive guide to your mac as expecting you to just use the help menus is not exactly great!
    :(
     
  8. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #8
    shift+apple+3 will grab the whole screen.
    shift+apple+4 will give you a cursor to grab a selection of the screen.
    shift+apple+4, let go, then tap spacebar, will give a little camera icon that lets you grab any single window.
     
  9. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #9
    >>>

    Ahh nice 1 !
    You have to activate Grab 1st, it seems.
    I thought it was already to use within the Services menu.
    Thats cool though.

    Thank you very much, all sorted and another thing I've learned.
    ;)
     
  10. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #10
    No, you don't have to activate grab. It should work anywhere, any time.
     
  11. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #11
    >>>

    Oh?
    The Options were grayed out until I did?
    :(
     
  12. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #12
    Just use the key commands I posted. No options necessary.
     
  13. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  14. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #14
    Thanks! had that problem too. CMD+drag solved it... but god knows what i deleted???:rolleyes: to get the question mark
     

Share This Page