Finder Windows+NTFS

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by linkboy, Feb 20, 2012.

  1. linkboy macrumors member

    linkboy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #1
    Is there any way to add the sidebar to NTFS windows in Finder.

    My NTFS (actually anything not HFS+) look like this

    [​IMG]

    when I want them to look like this

    [​IMG]
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Huh? Those shots are identical. Edit: Ahh, that's better.
     
  3. linkboy thread starter macrumors member

    linkboy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #3
    Photobucket was being dumb.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    So you're saying if you click on the BOOTCAMP drive on the sidebar, the sidebar disappears?
     
  5. linkboy thread starter macrumors member

    linkboy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #5
    On my desktop, I have both the drive icons for my Bootcamp partition and my OS X partition.

    If I open the Bootcamp drive, I get the above picture without the sidebar. Also, any folders I open will open in a new window as opposed to the same window. It gets annoying if I have to open a bunch of folders to get to a specific file.

    If I open my HFS drive partition, everything works fine. I can access my Bootcamp partition via the sidebar and everything stays inside the same window.

    I was thinking its because OS X can't write to NTFS drives, but a drive I have formatted for exFAT behaves the same way.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Even though native Mac OS X can't write to NTFS, it should have no problems reading it. I've never seen that behavior in Finder, but I usually launch Finder from the Dock and navigate from there.
     
  7. linkboy thread starter macrumors member

    linkboy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    #7
    Got it.

    It was due to the fact that OS X doesn't write to NTFS drives. I just installed the trial for Paragon NTFS, rebooted my computer and now its working just fine.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    That's just weird. I don't see any reason why that should affect the sidebar appearing, but I'm glad you sorted it out!
     

Share This Page