Finding it really difficult to get tethering working again

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by daneoni, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    When 3.0 came out with my previous 3G phone i got tethering to work no qualms, however, ever since 3.0.1 and 3GS acquisition no dice. I've tried everything but it just won't work. The tethering pane is there but when i activate it...nothing happens and instead the iPhone just begins to sync

    Any idea what i'm doing wrong
     
  2. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    THIS I want to know about!

    In the meantime have you re-done what you did to enable it in the first place?

    I did the benm on my 3G and did a sync to my comp.

    Then I picked up my 3GS and did a 'restore from backup' to put everything back in it's place and the tethering option was there on the new phone.

    But when I tried to activate it the function wouldn't work.

    I had to redo the benm workaround.
     
  3. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #3
    My tethering on both the 3G and the 3G S "went away" too after yesterday's update.

    I can't restore this feature to either one.
    No big loss as I was not using it (yet), but is was nice to know it was there.
     
  4. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #4
    Have you lot got Tethering enabled on your contract plan? If not, I'm not suprised it doesn't work!
     
  5. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    I've tried everything i did to get it to work in the first place and no dice. Pane is there but no actual tether activation

    I'm kinda bored and getting tired...been at this for 5+ hours and its not that essential for me...just wanted the option like i had initially
     
  6. eliteneo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #6
    Well try and reset your phone's setting's on the actual phone, not while it's syncing, and then try and downgrade to 3.0
     
  7. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    After reading this, I went to play with tethering.

    I checked after loading the firmware that the option was still there, and it was. I checked again and it was gone.

    So I went to setup up again, and now it works. I am posting this while tethered.

    I didn't use the benm config tool. I used Mobileconfig
     
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    Yup, it's a difficult one to explain, but my tethering is still up and running....:eek::eek::eek:
     
  9. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    dead link

    Already tried a reset...downgrading is too much of a hassle especially when some 3.0.1/3GS users can still tether
     
  10. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Apologies, sorted now
     
  11. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #11
    Tried that...still no dice. I give up.
     
  12. MacBacker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Left Coast, USA
    #12
    Tethering disappeared for me the day before 3.0.1. I plugged my 3GS into my computer and it did an autosync (which I have disabled) and it took it right off.

    Oh well...
     
  13. sportsfanMAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #13
    I'm having the same problem! I've never used tethering before, but I leave for a trip to colorado on friday ( i live in cali) and wanted to be able to tether on the way! it's a long drive and i wanted something to do... (i'm not driving btw)

    of course when i finally want to use it, it doesn't work... :/
     
  14. iUser4Lyfe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #14
    Why not just jailbreak and use PDAnet or modem?
     
  15. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    That cat and mouse game gets old quick. I don't want to JB unless i absolutely have to and tethering is a nice-while-here-won't-miss-it-if-it's-gone-that-much feature for me
     
  16. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    The link didn't work or the profile it created didn't work?
     
  17. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    Profile
     
  18. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Assuming you re-started the device after installing profile?
     
  19. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    Yup...Restart/Reset
     
  20. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

    Demosthenes X

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #20
    Tethering died on my 3G after 3.0.1, too. Between that and 3.0.1 forcing me to do a full restore, I'm not very happy at all...
     
  21. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #21
    I haven't been able to get tethering to stick for a couple weeks or so. I'll re-apply a hacked .ipcc and it will work for a little bit but it always disappears.
     
  22. KidFresh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #22
  23. sportsfanMAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #23
    No one's figured out a fix yet? I would really like to get this working before friday...
     

Share This Page