Finding RAM usage, and adding more?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by blizeH, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. blizeH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    That RAM will only work with Macs from 2008 and earlier.
    See below for the RAM guide.
    ______________________________________________________
    Have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and select All Processes and sort by CPU to see what the culprit may be.
    Also check the "System Memory" tab to see what your "Page ins:", "Page outs:" and "Swap used:" are.

    image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]
    Further reading:
    ______________________________________________________​

     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    You can monitor RAM usage with Activity Monitor. What MacBook does she have? There have been quite a few and the RAM type depends on that. Installing the RAM is very easy, though, regardless of the model.
     
  4. blizeH thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #4
    Ah! You guys are great, thank you - I was looking under System options, and 'About' under the Apple logo etc

    She has the latest (and last) Macbook model, so the stuff I posted won't be any good I guess :(
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Then look at this guide again:
    4 GB RAM cost less than 25 USD, 8 GB RAM cost less than 50 USD. The guide includes specifications about what RAM you need and links to the correct RAM.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    The good news is that DDR3 is cheaper than DDR2. 4GB module goes for £15, which would increase the ram to 5GB.
     
  7. blizeH thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #7
    Wow, thank you! She already has 2GB RAM but at that price I'm not messing around, ordered right away... 4GB fast notebook memory for £15? Damn. One chip is nice too, should mean it'll slot in without a problem... unless you meant she currently has 2x1GB chips instead of 1x2GB, so I'll need to take one out?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Yes, she has two 1 GB sticks.
     
  9. blizeH thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #9
    Ah I see, thank you! Well 5GB is still going to be an amazing upgrade, and for a reasonable price - thank you again :)
     

Share This Page