Finding Template in Xcode 4.2

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by freeme007, Oct 20, 2011.

1. freeme007 macrumors regular

Hi

I've just updated the Xcode to the latest version and it appears they have changed the name for all their default templates. Currently, I'm still new to this xcode IDE and doing exercises by following a book that I bought from Amazon. The instruction said that I need to use a View-Based Application Template and when I look at all the templates, I don't see it, Anyone know which template is the View-Based template in Xcode 4.2?

2. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

It's now called "Single View Application".

But, as always, if your book is based on Xcode 3, I suggest installing that alongside Xcode 4 and using that as you work through the book. That will eliminate much of the confusion (at least in regards to the differences between Xcodes).

3. freeme007 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks! Actually I'm using the Beginning iPhone 4 Development Exploring the iOS SDK by Dave, Jack and Jeff. Also, When I add an empty .XIB file in the "Single View Application" How come it does not come with a "Window" or a "View" ? I'm stucked on adding a Table View Cell to the newly added Empty .Xib file.

4. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Ah, continue on then. Just be aware that there may be some differences even between Xcode 4.0 and 4.2.

It doesn't come with anything because it's empty. Hence, the name. :)

You should be able to drag a View from the Object library into the XIB. Or did you mean something else? I'm not entirely clear what your issue is here. Care to elaborate?

5. freeme007 thread starter macrumors regular

Here's what I did. I dragged a view onto the xib file first and then dragged a Table View Cell from the library onto the View and when I try to connect from File Owner to the Table View Cell for IBOutlet, it won't let me connect.

6. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member