FIOS speed question

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by eraserheadache, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. eraserheadache macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #1
    I have the FIOS plan (internet, phone, NO TV), that gives me 15mbps download time on my Time Capsule dual wifi network, including the Actiontec router, a 2010 MBP, 2003 G5 1.6ghz uni, one iPhone 4, one iPhone 3G, Until recently, however, I've had 25-28mbps. Now, every time I test my speed (using speedtest.net), the speed gauge needle zooms up to 15, and abruptly stays there. Anyone know a way around this without having to spend more? I'm not employed.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Nope. Verizon has gotten around to implementing a cap that is limiting you to your plan's limit. Up until now you've been getting a bonus.
     
  3. EvilC5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    Hanover MD
    #3
    yea, has to be a cap, I was paying for 25/15 for the last 2 years and getting around 35 and just got the 35/35 package and am now getting around 45....
     
  4. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #4
    In their high volume/usage areas, they add a cap to level out the speeds to ensure enough pipeline for all users.

    I live in an area with sparse suage so I routinely see 50/45 when I pay for 35/35. But 3 miles away my brother has the same 35/35 and is capped due to high adoption of FIOS in his neighborhood.
     
  5. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    I pay for 15/15 but get 25/50, thats not verizon though
     

Share This Page