FiOS TV + CableCARD + MacBook Pro = works?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Zipforia, Sep 25, 2013.

1. Zipforia macrumors member

I have FiOS tv plan and want to get a cableCARD for my MacBook Pro so that I can watch all my (premium channels and local, if I can) on my computer. Will this work?

I have few questions regarding this:

1. Is this even possible with FiOS?
    2. If so, which cableCARD would you recommend?
    3. Do I need another set top box in my office for this to work? Or is this as simple as attaching a coax cable from my wall to the cableCARD then attaching the cableCARD to my mac via USB?
    4. Will Verizon charge me because I'm doing this?

Thank you in advance...and if you can...please explain it as simple as possible (and limit the acronyms) since I'm a newbie to this whole thing. Thanks again!

Z.

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Except for media servers, I am not aware of any computer from any manufacturer that accepts CableCARD. CableCARD is a PCMCIA card that takes the place of your cable provider's set top box. It decodes the provider's scrambled signals and allows the built-in tuner of your digital TV or DVR to handle program selection. CableCARD is provided by your local cable franchise for its programming. Best Buy and Frye's do not sell them. You cannot use a CableCARD from Time Warner to decode programming on Verizon FiOS or Comcast Xfinity.

3. Zipforia thread starter macrumors member

Ah! That is good to know.

So then I guess I need to rephrase my question:

Having a FiOS TV plan, how can I watch my channels on a Mac without having to get another Set Top Box? I have a coax out in my home office that is connected to my FiOS (in other rooms, the coax out is connected to a Verizon set top box to watch TV). What can I connect to the coax out to watch TV from my Mac? Thanks!

Z.

4. Jstarko0329 macrumors newbie