Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

Firefox 2 Flash problem

mdntcallr

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 1, 2000
1,471
179
I have upgraded to firefox 2 on my MBP, but it just wont work with any flash websites like youtube. or any flash.

Have updated to flash 9, intel version. but it still wont work.

anyone encounter the same? any ideas?
 

mdntcallr

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 1, 2000
1,471
179
website shows up , but no flash content.

that part is blank.
 
Comment

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
5,745
2,936
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
I'm assuming you have a new C2D Macbook Pro, like me.

Move the three Flash files out of /Library/Internet Plug-ins and into your own ~/Library/Internet Plug-ins folder. It shouldn't matter, but it does (I was pulling my hair out over this until I chanced upon the solution while trying to debug the problem!).

I suspect it's because "Flash Player Enabler.plugin" is still a PPC app, while the other two files are Universal.

The three files are:

Flash Player Enabler.plugin
Flash Player.plugin
flashplayer.xpt
 
Comment

mdntcallr

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 1, 2000
1,471
179
i went there, not too much help. pretty frustrating.

right now i am hoping safari works better when the new one is released soon.
 
Comment

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
14,279
366
Lard
I'm assuming you have a new C2D Macbook Pro, like me.

Move the three Flash files out of /Library/Internet Plug-ins and into your own ~/Library/Internet Plug-ins folder. It shouldn't matter, but it does (I was pulling my hair out over this until I chanced upon the solution while trying to debug the problem!).

I suspect it's because "Flash Player Enabler.plugin" is still a PPC app, while the other two files are Universal.

The three files are:

Flash Player Enabler.plugin
Flash Player.plugin
flashplayer.xpt

Since you have a workaround, I was wondering if the problem or the workaround has been reported to Adobe. Even if it's a comment at VersionTracker or MacUpdate, even that would help.
 
Comment

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
5,745
2,936
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
Since you have a workaround, I was wondering if the problem or the workaround has been reported to Adobe. Even if it's a comment at VersionTracker or MacUpdate, even that would help.

It's actually a Firefox 2 bug, not a Flash bug.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=356694

First thing I tried when troubleshooting was to check in Safari; and it had no problems playing Flash.
 
Comment

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
5,745
2,936
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
Hmm... looks like their solution is easier. You can supposedly just delete the pluginsreg.dat file (from your ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox folder) while Firefox is not running.

Also looks like it's only a problem for those of us who tried migrating our profiles over from a PPC mac to an Intel mac.
 
Comment

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
14,279
366
Lard
Hmm... looks like their solution is easier. You can supposedly just delete the pluginsreg.dat file (from your ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox folder) while Firefox is not running.

Also looks like it's only a problem for those of us who tried migrating our profiles over from a PPC mac to an Intel mac.

So, once again, saving your bookmarks file and killing the profile saves the day. Sad that data corruption has caused so many problems for so many people.
 
Comment

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
5,745
2,936
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
So, once again, saving your bookmarks file and killing the profile saves the day. Sad that data corruption has caused so many problems for so many people.

Yeah, I've done that in the past too with Firefox and with Thunderbird. But now, with things like cookies and ads being selectively blocked, my junk mail filter being pretty well trained, etc. I hate to lose all my settings (some of which aren't in flat text files unfortunately).
 
Comment

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
14,279
366
Lard
Yeah, I've done that in the past too with Firefox and with Thunderbird. But now, with things like cookies and ads being selectively blocked, my junk mail filter being pretty well trained, etc. I hate to lose all my settings (some of which aren't in flat text files unfortunately).

I'm hoping that the corruption is finished but I wouldn't bet on anything. I've been running the Thunderbird beta without a problem so hopefully that goes smoothly for other people, as well.
 
Comment

thewallypug

macrumors newbie
Jan 22, 2007
1
0
I had the same problem (today) in Firefox 2 - OSx.3.9 power pc G4 450 mHz Cube 896MB sDRAM. Flash items showed up as a greyed-out Quicktime symbol with a question mark in the middle.
I was using Flash 9

Firefox suggested making sure Flash in any form was unchecked in System preferences for Quicktime. I unchecked (they were all checked). No good but I kept them unchecked. Then I followed their suggestion to go to ~/library/Mozilla/profiles/...and delete "pluginreg.dat" All the while turning FF on and off.
But it didn't work.

I finally found this thread and decided to reinstall Flash 8.x per suggestion.
No good.
Next slid the 3 library items (just in case) to the other library. Still nothing. Slid back.
Next, on to ~/libraryApplication support/firefox/pluginreg.dat. This 'pluginreg.dat' was in a different place than the other one, and it seemed to have a more modern-looking icon, (but I'm not sure). I put that in the trash - Now it works! Thank you everyone.
I hope this can help someone. I usually can come to this forum only to humbly gather and learn. I would put back Flash 9 for a more complete story before posting this, but I can't bear to spend more time on it now...

But I just realized this problem started a few months ago - I installed Flash 9 a few months ago.
 
Comment

philwortley

macrumors newbie
Jan 23, 2007
1
0
Fantastic

Finally, a solution that actualy works. I have a PPC and moving that one little file to the trash and restarting Firefox worked a treat. Thank you so much!

:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :D
 
Comment

Joe11

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2005
3
0
I have a similar problem to this although i can't view any flash content in Safari as well as Mozilla.

It just says i need to install a plug in, and the area where the video should be is just a bwhite box, so i click to install the plug in, and it's adobe flash player, but it wont install, so i click manual install. Manually install it, and then it just, doesn't install. And no flash things work still. Anyone able to help?

Thanks.
 
Comment

frankcow

macrumors newbie
Feb 18, 2007
4
0
Toronto
I've used these forums many times to solve problems, but now I'm having this problem that apparently has no solution!

I want to subscribe to this thread, hopefully an answer turns up
 
Comment

sulmanen

macrumors newbie
Jul 23, 2007
1
0
Deleting profile did it for me.

Tried all above without any luck. This worked for me:

-Backup profile bookmarks somewhere:
-Backup anything else in your profile you'd like to keep.
-Close Firefox
-Remove everything in ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox
-Restart


Removing a profile for nothing can be painful so check
with a fresh user that this will work for you.
 
Comment

dale1965

macrumors newbie
Sep 16, 2007
1
0
Fantastic - am back to using Firefox!

Tried all above without any luck. This worked for me:

-Backup profile bookmarks somewhere:
-Backup anything else in your profile you'd like to keep.
-Close Firefox
-Remove everything in ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox
-Restart


Removing a profile for nothing can be painful so check
with a fresh user that this will work for you.

This is the best news in the world for me - salmanen's solution worked for me! :D ... no more Safari thank god lol

:apple:
 
Comment

leshake

macrumors newbie
Apr 3, 2008
6
0
through trial and error i have found out that if you use firefox add-ons, specifically the "Ad-Block Plus" series, it causes flash items to be shown wrong when you scroll to them, for example music players on band myspace profiles.

i can't find a good reason to use adblock plus so i have removed it from firefox, i just don't see it doing anything much really, i still get pop-ups and ads.

hope that helps.
 
Comment

fidelfs

macrumors newbie
Jun 10, 2008
1
0
I found the same as leshake and the problem is with ad block plus. The reason is because there are ads embedded within the movie for example in cnn.com

I liked ad block plus because stopped some annoying ads but I want to watch the videos.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.