Firefox 3.0 beta 5 released, and new fun robot arts

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clevin, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1
    download from here
    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html

    This is latest, and last beta of firefox 3, final version of firefox 3 will be released in June. RC probably will be out soon.

    A review of beta 5 can be found here http://mozillalinks.org/wp/2008/04/firefox-3-beta-5-is-here-and-reviewed/

    Firefox 3 beta 5 is "feature complete" (a significant POSSIBLE change would be PGO optimization for Mac, if it will be able to make into final, it would provide extra 10-25% speed improvement), small bugs are still being fixed, as well as updating of extensions. Other than that, most reviewers indicate that beta 5 is soild, stable enough for day to day use.

    Beta 5 is tested to be 16% faster than beta 4 in javascript.

    For the new features of firefox 3, check the links in my signature (in progress). and this link (not very well sorted jumbo, lol)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #2
    Is this the final beta 5, or is it a beta 5 pre release?, I'm asking because the .dmg is dated march 28

    Hope the file is not an april's 1st prank...

    I downloaded it already...

    Thanks very much :apple:

    Cheers!
     
  3. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    its beta 5 final, the beta 5 code was branched on Mar. 26th. This version should be identical to beta 5 RC2.
     
  4. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #4
    Ok, I understand what you are saying. Nevertheless this is what I got on first run:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    indeed, the firstrun page hasn't been updated yet (should be done in hours)

    if you are not feeling safe, you can wait and download again at same address.

    I will sure to post the firstrun robots when the page gets updated! :D
     
  6. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #6
    Well, I am using it, an loving it... thanks amigo :apple:
     
  7. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    Beta 5 final is up

    here is storyline of the great robot, defender of the human kind

    beta 2

    [​IMG]
    beta 3
    [​IMG]
    beta 4
    [​IMG]
    beta 5
    [​IMG]

    some info for the robot can be found when you type in "about:robots" in url bar and press enter
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Clevin

    Have just updated from beta 4,but when open it from the dock,the would you like it to be the default browser box appears ( and the menu options appear ) as soon as i click no the options in the menu
    dis-appear. If i close firefox ( red button ) the menu options re-appear,if i then click file
    >new window,firefox opens with the menu options, strange?
     
  9. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    can you post a screenshot to demonstrate the "menu options"?

    also click the red button does not really close the app on Mac, you need to do file->quit, or cmd+q, or right click dock icon and choose "quit".
     
  10. izibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    #10
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    Clevin

    Heres one when when i click no as the default browser ( no menu options )

    Picture 1.png

    and one when i click close ( yes i know about quiting but its the only way i have menu options )

    Picture 2.png
     
  12. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    wow, I C

    did you try

    1. quit firefox and restart it?

    2. click other app to de-active firefox window, and then re-active it by click it?

    3. reboot the computer?


    What extensions did you have?

    (PS. im guess that there is some problem in your profile, can you try: quit firefox, goto username/library/application support/, rename the firefox folder to something else? restart firefox and see if problem persists?)
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    hi clevin

    1 tried no dice

    2 ditto

    3 ditto

    no extensions

    tried renaming folder didn't work

    Deleted firefox,downloaded it again made it the default browser WORKED
     
  14. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #14
    IDK, must be a love-hate thing, I have no idea... :)

    If renaming the profile didn't help, I kinda wonder if thats a firefox problem at all.... but who knows....let me know if you have any new findings.:)
     
  15. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #15
    Yer strange things happen,just opened up safari made it the default again,opened up firefox no menu
    options again god knows what's doing changed it back and the menu options show up must like being
    top dog
     
  16. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #16
    ...mmm..., try setting firefox beta 5 as default through Safari's preference?
     
  17. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #17
    yep that works as long as firefox is the default then i get menu options,if it's not either in/by safari's
    preferences or when you open up firefox for the first time and select no i get a blank menu bar
     
  18. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    I've only used Safari on my Mac. What would be the biggest benefits to switch to Firefox? Is there a downside to not using Safari? Thanks!
     
  19. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Firefox works with Hotmail, and some Banking sites Safari does not work with

    Many plug-ins are available for Firefox to do things you may want to do, and you can skin it for looks

    Safari is faster to start

    They are about the same browsing speed, each beating one another in different tests

    Safari is more standards compliant

    Safari is more integrated with the OS
     
  20. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #20
    how about goto preferences->advanced->general, and uncheck the default checking ?
    Its really not my desire to turn this topic into a potential "vs." flaming war.... :eek:

    I say this. however, IMHO, the advantages of firefox is security, functionality and extensions.

    you can check out my first post, which provides some links to "whats new in firefox 3", as well as a review, see if you like it.

    But firefox does not integrate to OSX very deep. If thats a big part you use with safari.

    I would encourage you to try out firefox 3 beta 5, explore it for yourself, if you still like safari more after some adventures, then you should probably stick to safari.
     
  21. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    It wasn't my intent to turn this into a flaming war....just trying to understand the popularity of a third party browser and the benefits it may have over Safari. I'll check it out after work. Firefox will need to authenticate with my homebanking and other online services in order for it to be a viable browser solution for my needs. I'm looking forward to giving it a spin!
     
  22. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #22
    Firefox should be compatible with more, not less websites, compare to safari. I think it will pass your entry test ! :D

    Indeed, try out is the only way to figure out for yourself, we can present a bunch of pros and cons, but without experiencing it, its quite pale.

    Also, Absolutely not accusing you of anything! :eek: Its just MR is quite robust sometimes, I want to be cautious and make sure nobody would jump in and start flaming based on anything I said .... :)
     
  23. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23
    I promise not to flame anyone. :p I'm always interested in learning about new products. Don't tell my boss, but I just downloaded the PC version as I'm still at work.
     
  24. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #24
    lol, good luck with that!

    PS. In case your windows box is protected and you are not allowed to install any app. you can always download ZIP version here ( ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/2008-03-26-06-firefox3.0b5/firefox-3.0b5.en-US.win32.zip ), you only need to unzip it and run minefield/firefox.exe in extracted folder. No installation needed.
     
  25. MrFrankly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #25
    Are those little IE-icons around the planet?
     

Share This Page