Firefox 3.5 Problem with Tabs

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Barnum, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. Barnum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #1
    When I quit Firefox 5.3 it does not save my tabs for the next time it starts. Is there a solution to this problem or do I have to wait for the next bug fix?
     
  2. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #2
    humm... interesting. Its doing the same thing for me. It doesn't even ask to save the tabs on quit....:confused: will look arround some to see.
     
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    does this work?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #4
    try a force quit and reopen. the main point of reloading tabs was if there was a crash, it would reload the tabs..
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    i dont think thats what OP was asking.

    however, are you saying your firefox will not restore tabs after a crash?
     
  6. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #6
    im saying it will. In the old versions and i think in one of the betas as well, when quitting, it would ask if u wanted to save ur tabs, and on open, ask if u wanted a new session or ur Tabs from last time.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    that only happens when you run firefox for the first time with a profile. it will not ask again once you made a choice. It can be changed at the place i showed above.
     
  8. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #8
    it asked me when i was running a beta like all the time i quit and started.
     
  9. Barnum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #9
    OK, I've tried that and now I got the same problems that techfreak is having. Looks like I'll have to force quit.
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    im a bit confused. can you list a step 1,2,3 to reproduce what you experienced? and tell me what is "expected result", and what actually happened?
     
  11. freesonwang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #11
    Usually when you quit Firefox a dialog will pop up asking to "Save and Quit", "Quit", or "Cancel". I believe there is also a tick box to tell Firefox not to prompt you when quitting and to "just quit".

    While one of the responses said you can have the preference to always save tabs upon quit, some people like having the prompt.

    I think that's what the thread starter is asking, and the solution is here.
     
  12. jonboy99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #12
    I think this may be a bug with the latest firefox. I have only just got a mac (2/7 ago) and couldn't get this working. Always been fine in windows and linux, and yes I have adjusted the settings as above. Googling suggests it may be a problem with the mac version of firefox v3.5.
    Is very annoying as tab mix plus won't work with this version either. :(
     
  13. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #13
    Forgive me jumping this old thread, but this problem has been bothering me as well, and I was wondering if anyone had any solutions?

    -My firefox remembers history and is set to re-open tabs at opening.
    -When I close down Firefox using the red traffic light, when I re-open, all tabs are gone
    HOWEVER
    -When I exit the Firefox session using command+Q, upon reopening Firefox, my session is restored.

    Might this have something to do with the Mac's dual closing feature? When you close Firefox the program stays running, to completely close it you have to QUIT it...

    Any solutions to have it save the tabs when I just close Firefox?
     
  14. jonboy99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #14
    I was told it is indeed this 'feature' of keeping the process in memory when clicking the red X. Cmd Q is the solution i use. It still seems like a bug but it seems this is the mac way.
     
  15. eagleice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #15
    any news on this problem? Gameunreal postet the problem.
     
  16. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #16
    There is no problem :)

    for example:
    the red traffic light close only the window

    There is no dual closing feature on a Mac .. only Cmd Q.


    When you want more features .. use for example:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2324

    Cheers
     
  17. eagleice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #17
    if there is no problem: how do I get my tabs back when I pressed the red X closing button?

    (It's not that big of a deal for me, i minimize with cmd+m anyway, or cmd+q. But if someone else uses my firefox, he will close the window with the red X, meaning that all my tabs are gone!? )

    and I use Session Manager, no change here.
     
  18. Erunno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #18
    Look for "Recently closed windows" or similar in the history menu entry.
     
  19. jonboy99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #19
    Tab mix plus extension has been updated to work with firefox 3.5 now, so you could use that to restore sessions.
     
  20. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #20
    Use Windows with a Mac-Skin, when you want this behavior and a red X :)
    Or learn how a Mac works :D
     
  21. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #21
    By the way,
    and you have still always the:
    History/Recently Closed Tabs
    History/Recently Closed Windows
    Restore from last session ...
    options

    Cheers
     

Share This Page