Firefox 3 Beta 2

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mr.PS, Feb 10, 2008.

1. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

I've been using this on windows and OSX for a few months. It uses 1/4 the memory that 2.2 uses. It's also faster and I love the new url bar. It's pretty stable outside of a few content-type errors here and there (usually on improperly configured websites/forums. Other then that it's solid, even on OSX.

I'd advise anyone looking to save 500+mb of memory to check it out.

Note: certain plug ins do not yet work with 3 beta 2, so if you need firebug or the web developer tool bar you might want to stick with 2.2.

2. XianPalin macrumors 6502

XianPalin

I tried it out for a bit on my Windows box at work, but I'd occasionally run into weird problems. The main problem was it seemed to randomly cause screen redraw problems - I would have to drag a window off the screen to get it to update. Only a reboot fixed the problem.

My copy on Mac worked out fine, I think I just missed a few extensions.

3. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

I'm using beta 2 right now. I think it's great! It seems to run a lot faster than 2.2 for me, and webpages load a lot faster. About half of my extensions don't work with it yet, but they're all the ones I don't really use anyway. Are you guys using the OS X Proto skin on it? It looks so much better, I think, and now I don't have to look for Mac-looking skins anymore.

4. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

I don't use any skins, I've never really had a reason too. It's very fast though, you're right!

5. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

Well, Proto isn't really a normal skin; as the name means to suggest, it's the work in progress of the new default skin for OS X, but it hasn't been implemented as the default in the beta 2 download yet. I think it looks great, very Mac.

6. reubs macrumors 68000