Firefox 3 Beta 5 CPU usage....

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MarlboroLite, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. MarlboroLite macrumors 6502a

    MarlboroLite

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    the 13 colonies
    #1
    Has anyone experienced more random frequent upticks of CPU usage while using Firefox 3 Beta 5 lately? They seem to occur at least once per session....since I upgraded from beta 4. They seem to have fixed some major memory leaks, but opened some CPU ones....
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    if there is any way you can find any re-produceability, you might want to submit a bug report.:)

    I personally haven't seen this with my beta 5.
     
  3. limbic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #3
    I am getting the same behaviour.

    Firefox 3 Beta 5 on a iMac G5 Power PC. Even with no plug-ins and Flash disabled FF runs between 10 - 25% with no tabs open.
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    Yeah, randomly the cpu usage shoots up and there's
    quite a bit of disk activity (did you notice that too?)

    I'm guessing it's either cache purging or checking for
    an update.
     
  5. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #5
    Yep - sends my fan to over 4XXX Rpm.
     

Share This Page